Strawberry Rhubarb Mini Pies

It’s no secret that me and pie crust haven’t been friends over the years. I know I’ve mentioned it before. But with a quick lesson from my father in law, we are now best buds.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-17

Which is a good thing, because I L.O.V.E pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-7

I love the flaky crust and the sweet fruity filling, or savory filling, or just about anything filling.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-11

I can remember the first time I tasted the sweet and tart mixture of strawberry and rhubarb. It was with my dad, on one of our many family camping adventures.. We had stopped in a small town, and found a cute little diner. You know the ones with fresh pie for sale.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-13

We all had a chance to pick a treat.  While my brothers and sisters order doughnuts and ice cream, I watched my dad’s eyes get big with delight as he looked over the pie selection.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-15

When he selected strawberry rhubarb pie, I decided to join him.  Big thanks to my dad. I have been hooked ever since.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie-16

 

Strawberry Rhubarb Mini Pies

Filling

1 ½ Cups of Strawberries, Quartered and Hulled
2/3 Cups of Rhubarb, Cut into 1 Inch Pieces
1/3 Cup of Sugar
4 Teaspoons of Cornstarch

Crust

2 ½ Cups of Flour
½ Teaspoon of Salt
½ Cup of Cold Butter, Cut Into Cubes
½ Cup of Cold Lard, Cut Into Cubes
¼ Cup of Cold Water
3 Tablespoon of Sour Cream
1 Egg
2 Tablespoon Course Sugar

For the Filling

In a medium bowl, add all of the filling ingredients. Set aside.

For the Crust

In a large bowl, whisk flour and salt. Using a pastry blender (or 2 forks) cut the butter and the lard into the flour, until it looks like small crumbs. Mix the sour cream and water together. Using a fork mix the sour cream mixture into the flour mixture, until it comes together. Using your hands, form a ball. Split into 2, and form into discs. Wrap each disc in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 1 hour.

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees, and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out each discs, one at a time. About 3mm thick. Using a bowl, that’s about 5-6 inches round, cut dough into circles. You should end up with 6 per disc.

Spoon out about a tablespoon of the filling into each circle. Brush edges with water and fold circle in half. Crimp the edge with a fork.

Mix the egg with a tablespoon of water, brush onto of each pie, leaving the edges dry. Sprinkle sugar on top.

Bake for 30 mins.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I love these! Your photographs are absolutely gorgeous. Nice crust recipe…sour cream and egg! Wow!

    Reply
  2. Adorable! You had me at mini

    Reply
  3. Those look delicious! I love mini pies like this, they’re just so much more adorable and tasty. :)

    Reply
  4. Ooo these look delicious! :) I love mini things!

    Reply
  5. I will have to try these! I love my Dad’s strawberry rhubarb pie but these are just so cute :)

    Reply
  6. You know it’s funny, I’ve only recently started to really enjoy pie over the last few years. Before that I wouldn’t even give it a second look!! I need to make up for lost time – these mini strawberry rhubarb ones look awesome!

    Reply
  7. Yumm!!! These look so good and SO easy!

    I am also in need of practicing my pie crust… thinking of making some cherry tarts next week :) Strawberry rhubarb is such a delicious combo, though, I kind of want to make these now, lol!

    Reply
  8. Like seriously? How am I missing your emails? I just went back to my email,and checked, and you’re not there. I’ll be signing up again!! <3 In the meantime…wow. Just wow. I love strawberry rhubarb anything…and these are the perfect little handpies that I've ever seen!! Love this, Tracy!! You photos are so beautiful….they make me wish that I was sitting right there at that table.

    Reply
  9. They look perfect for me! I almost can feel its amazing and delisious flavour.. Can I have a dozen please? :D

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

