Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

I got nothing interesting to say this week.

Bestest Chocolate Chip Cookies-9

Well, what I mean is, I’ve been sitting in from of my keyboard typing and then promptly deleting it.

Bestest Chocolate Chip Cookies-3

It makes me think of when you run into an old friend and they ask you: “What’s new?”, and you’re all “not much”.   Which is entirely not true, there is always something new going on in your life.  Really, it’s not that you can’t think of anything that’s new, it’s just you can’t think of anything interesting enough to say that’s new.  That’s kind of where I am right now.  There are a ton of things happening here in my little world, except I can’t think of anything interesting enough to share.

Bestest Chocolate Chip Cookies-10

I could tell you that we are in the middle of stripping all the stain off our deck (because it peeled off after the winter) and it’s a huge overwhelming task, that some days makes us want to cry…  or I could tell you I’m finally getting my vegetable garden…  so much for nice nails…  Or perhaps you would like to hear that other than stripping, staining and picking out the perfect tomato plant, all I do is stay inside and re-watch episodes of supernatural?  See …  nothing interesting.

Bestest Chocolate Chip Cookies-6

Because I’m such a boring old lady, I have made you cookies.  Not just any cookies.  These are Kelly’s secret ingredient cookies.  They are the perfect combo of chewy and crispy.

Bestest Chocolate Chip Cookies-8

Pour yourself a glass of milk, or a cup of tea, or a cup of Joe and grab a couple of cookies, because this really is the only chocolate chip cookie recipe you’ll ever need.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

[Adapted by http://www.justataste.com/2013/09/secret-ingredient-best-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe/]

2 ¼ Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon of Salt
¾ Cup of Softened Butter
¼ Cup of Softened Cream Cheese
½ Cup of Sugar
1 Cup of Brown Sugar
1 ½ Teaspoons of Vanilla Extract
2 Eggs
2 Cups of Chocolate Chips

Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking sheet (http://www.amazon.ca/DeMarle-Silpat-4-Inch-Nonstick-Silicone/dp/B0001RT42C), or parchment paper (not wax paper).

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt, set aside.

In a large bowl beat butter and cream cheese, until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes ( I used my stand mixer).  Add both sugars, and continue mixing until it’s also light and fluffy, about 2 more minutes.

While mixing, add vanilla, then eggs, one at a time.  Slowly add the flour mixture, 1/3 at a time, until combined.

Manually stir in chocolate chips.

Now stick it in the fridge for at least 2 hours.  This is one of the most important steps.  By this time the butter is all loosy goosy (that’s a technical term), and it needs time to firm up again.  If you don’t allow for this to happen, you cookies can be flat and crispy.

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees.  Remove the cookie dough from the fridge and scoop out 1/3 cup of dough at a time, and roll it into little balls.  Place on the prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for 11-15 minutes.  Little tip; I usually do a practice bake, I bake only 2 cookies for my first batch.  This allows me to properly determine the baking time.  I baked mine for 12 minutes.

You’ll notice the cookies look puffy when you take them out, they will settle and look perfect, like commercial perfect.

 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Well… You had a lot to say!! Lol :-)

    Ugh.. So sorry to hear about your deck… That’s such a huge job!

    Work that garden.. And I’ll live vicariously through you.. I just can’t seem to find the time to get out into the yard!

    Tracy.. Honest to goodness, I’m going to try these cookies. I’m really bad at baking CC cookies… I made some this past weekend, and my son was like “what’s up with these cookies?”

    I’m trying them. Tonight. Right now.

    Awesome post.. <3

    Reply
  2. these look great! i never thought of adding cream cheese to cookies, i’ll have to try it next time though. :)

    Reply
  3. These cookies look great! Have you ever used them for ice cream sandwiches?

    Reply
  4. haha that’s how I feel sometimes … I have nothing to say because life is just being life … nothing exciting going on!

    These cookies look amazing – I love classic chocolate chip cookies. And I love that you used cream cheese in them!

    Reply
  5. I had the exact same thing happen to me today. Which is kind of bad since me and my boyfriend are long distance, so when he called me to ask what’s new, I was all “uh…nothing much..”
    But these cookies are something to talk about in themselves! I bet I could eat the whole batch!

    Reply
  6. Oh wow these look fab, love the cream cheese in them. I sometimes sit with my best friend and we just shrug at each other for a lack of things to say ha. That’s until the cocktails role out of course! :)

    Reply
  1. Ice Cream Sandwiches | foodessen

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

