Overnight CrockPot Apple Cinnamon Oats

First off, I would like to apologize for making you oatmeal, in spring.  But…. OMG! This is so worth it.  Have you ever woken up to the smell of apples and cinnamon?  It’s almost as awesome as waking up to the smell of bacon. Almost.

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal-6

I had been meaning to make this forever.  I had a few recipes book marked, but hadn’t gotten around to it.  Until I saw a co-worker of mine struggling to make oatmeal at work, then I noticed why.  She was trying to cook steel cut oats in the microwave.

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

I quickly put her out of her misery and told her that it would take more than a few minutes in a microwave to cook kind of oatmeal.  I suggested that maybe she should try one of the overnight oatmeal recipes I had been meaning to make.

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal-3

I sent her a few recipes, and asked her to let me know how it worked out.  It’s really a win/win.  She gets to make yummy oatmeal, and I have someone to test out recipes.

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal-9

She returned on the next Monday and told me it worked out awesome.  She specifically told me about the delicious smell she woke up to.  That’s all I needed to hear.  The very next weekend I cooked up my own batch… seriously, best… wake-up…EVER!!! Well, aside from someone cooking you bacon.  Obviously.

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal-8

Overnight Crock-Pot Apple Cinnamon Oats

[Adapted from http://www.theroastedroot.net/apple-cinnamon-crock-pot-steel-cut-oatmeal/%5D

1 Cup of Steel Cut Oats
4 Cups of Water
4 Tablespoons of Butter
1 Apple, Skin Removed and Cut Up
½ Cup of Raisins
2 Teaspoons of Cinnamon
1 Tablespoon of Vanilla
Pecans, Brown Sugar and Milk for Serving.

Dig out your crock-pot, and grease it up good. I’m serious, use butter, cooking spray, whatever you have, but use lots of it.  I coated mine pretty good, and some oatmeal still stuck, no big deal.

Throw all the ingredients, except for pecans and milk, into your crock pot.  Turn it to the lowest setting, and go to bed.

I had mine set to 10 hours, and I woke up at the 8 hour mark, and it was done.  It all depends on your crock pot.

Scoop out a nice big bowl and sprinkle pecans and brown sugar over the oatmeal.  Add some milk. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. It looks yummy! love the addittion of pecans…

    Reply
  2. Sounds great! This would be so nice during the holiday season, yum :)

    Reply
  3. Mmm I love oatmeal – breakfast staple at our house. And I’m down for apple and cinnamon anytime of the year!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

