Chocolate Chip Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate

Say that ten times fast.  Did you try it?  Because I did as I was typing this… ya, I’m such a child.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting-7

Don’t these look fabulous?  I don’t usually toot my own horn, but I have been struggling with frosting cupcakes for years.  Ok so I only tried twice before these,  but I’m pretty sure it happened over the past couple of years.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting

At first, I didn’t have the right tools, so I went out and bought a piping bag, the correct size of Wilton tip, an open star 1M for these, and a pastry bag stand. Then I watched a whole bunch of how to video’s.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting-2

Still my cupcakes look like a very frustrated 5 your old had gotten a hold of them.  My frosting was a soft and floppy mess.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting-3

The key here people was the soft and floppy frosting and how to get it thicker.  Add more powdered sugar… duh.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting-5

All of a sudden the frosting mystery disappeared, it was so easy.  It’s just like pastry dough, as soon as you get the correct consistency, your set!

Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting-6

So, If you want perfectly frosted cupcakes that look like this, avoid all the mistakes I made.  Buy the right tools, trust me.  The tips are at Michael’s or any craft store, you can get reusable bags at a bulk food store, and you don’t need the pastry bag stand, you can use a tall glass.  Definitely watch a few ‘how to’ videos for some tips on how to get it right. And make sure your frosting is thick.

1 -Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Peanut Butter or Chocolate Frosting (2)

Before you know it, you’ll be frosting cupcakes like a rock star!

[Recipes Adapted from http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/03/09/banana-cupcakes-chocolate-peanut-butter-frosting/%5D

Cupcakes

2 Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Cinnamon
1 Teaspoon of Salt
1/2 Cup of Softened Unsalted Butter
½ Cup of Brown Sugar
¾ Cup of White Sugar
3 Eggs (Always use large eggs, unless otherwise stated)
3 Ripe Bananas, Mashed up (if you don’t have ripe bananas, throw them in the freezer overnight, it will instantly ripen them)
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla
½ Cup of Buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk, click here to see how to make it)
1 Cup of Mini Chocolate Chips (or regular size)

Peanut Butter Frosting

¾ Cup of Peanut Butter (creamy is best)
4 Tablespoons of Soften Unsalted Butter
¾ Cup of Powdered Sugar (I used 1 ¼ cups so add more if you need it)
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
3 Tablespoons of Heavy Cream

Chocolate Frosting

1 ¾ Cup of Powdered Sugar (again, add more if you need it)
¼ Cup of Cocoa Powder
½ Cup of Softened Unsalted Butter
2 Teaspoons of Heavy Cream
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

For the Cupcakes

Pre-Heat your oven to 350 degrees. Line 18 muffin tins with paper liners, set aside.
In a medium bowl, whisk Flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

Beat together, the butter and both sugars, until light and fluffy (I used my stand mixer with the paddle). Now add the eggs one at a time, blending one before you add the next. Stir in the bananas and vanilla, until well combined.
Slowly add the dry ingredients, you should do this in stages. Mix in the buttermilk until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.
Distribute the batter between 18 muffin tins. The muffin tins should be ¾ full. Bake for 15 – 18 mins.
Allow the cupcakes to cook completely before frosting.

For the Peanut Butter Frosting

Beat together peanut butter and butter, until fluffy. Slowly add the powdered sugar, until well combined. Add the vanilla and cream, and beat for about 2 minutes. Remember, add more sugar if it’s too thin.

For the Chocolate Frosting

Sift the cocoa powder into the powdered sugar. Beat the butter, until creamy. Slowly add the powdered sugar/ cocoa powder, until well combined. Mix in the cream and vanilla, for about 2 minutes.

I’m not going to tell you how to frost these, I highly suggest you find a good video on youtube, there are tons of really good ones!

 

 

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Oh yeah… I love them! I said on FB that I did say it ten times fast, hoping that one would magically appear in front of me!
    Don’t you just love it when you finally get it? When that light bulb finally goes off? …and then, I’ll get so good at something, that’s all I’ll do…and everyone gets so sick of it! Lol.. :-)
    Don’t stop making these… :-)
    Awesome post… Gorgeous cupcakes. I hope that you post them on Fiesta Friday!! <3

    Reply
  2. These look fabulous! Beautiful photos! And you absolutely cannot go wrong with a flavor combo like this!

    Reply
  3. Ooooo I love the look of that chocolate frosting! :)

    Reply
  4. These came out awesome! I love the way piped frosting looks – it’s so darn pretty! The peanut butter and chocolate frosting both sound delicious!

    Reply
  5. I love that you included two frostings for these scrumptious cupcakes! Banana desserts are the best. So creamy, sweet and delicious!

    Reply
  6. These are so beautiful! I always have trouble frosting cupcakes, because the frosting recipes I’ve tried are either too soft/flimsy or stiff enough but utterly flavorless. I can’t wait to try out the peanut butter one – that one sounds super tasty!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

