Sweet Potato and Maybe Peanut Butter Soup

Sweet Potato Soup-4

Please do not click away. I’m not crazy I swear! Well crazy is a relative term, out here in food blogger world, am I right folks???

Sweet Potato Soup

But seriously this combo is actually awesome. I was skeptical at first too, But then I remembered I ate a peanut butter and onion sandwich aaaaand decided I had already crossed a line.

Sweet Potato Soup-2
I did used the word “maybe”, so if this peanut butter in the soup thing is freaking you out, you can omit it. But trust me, you want give it a go.

Sweet Potato Soup-3
The first time I tried this combo, it wasn’t actually in a soup. I had already ventured down this road before. I was watching a cooking show, and this chef, added peanut butter to his sweet mashed potato.

Sweet Potato Soup-5
The first time I did it, I put way too much in. A little peanut butter goes a long way. That rule also applies when you put peanut butter on a burger with bacon and cheese… we’ll chat about that later.

Sweet Potato Soup (2)

 

Now that I have probably totally grossed you out, go and make some sweet potato soup, and put some peanut butter on it… or not, your choice.
[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/sweet_potato_soup.php%5D

2 Sweet Potatoes
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
1 Medium Onion, Chopped
1 Teaspoon of Garlic, Minced
4 Cups of Low Sodium Chicken Broth (Or Vegetable Broth , or Full Sodium Chicken Broth)
½ Teaspoon each of Salt and Pepper
1 Tablespoon of Creamy Peanut Butter

Peel and cut sweet potatoes into 1 inch pieces. In a medium pot filled with water, add the cut up sweet potato, bring to a boil. Boil the potatoes until tender. I usually check with a fork. Drain the water and set aside.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Cook onion and garlic until onions are tender. Add chicken broth and allow to heat.

In a blender, add sweet potato and chicken broth in 2 batches and puree until smooth.
Return pureed mixture to the medium pot. If it’s too thick, you can add a little water, or chicken broth if you have any left. Add the peanut butter and heat the soup through.

Serve with a sprinkle of crushed up peanuts or sesame seeds, like I did, cause I forgot to buy peanuts.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh… I LOVE this!! Tracy… I don’t find you to be the least bit crazy… well, the normal crazy that we all are, but that’s a good thing… :-)
    This sounds so delicious… I can totally see peanut butter in this soup, just as I can see peanut butter in Thai dishes… it’s excellent with chicken too! I’m going to try this soup.. and I know I’m going to love it!
    Now…the cheeseburger and peanut butter… haha… I was so surprised to read that! My father in law will not eat a burger without peanut butter… hahaha!! Too funny!
    As always, your photos are beautiful…awesome post. <3

    Reply
  2. I’m actually going to try this and let you know how it goes! I love that this is something I’ve never heard of before and that nobody else seems to be doing. This is great–bring on the weird, unexpected flavor combos!

    Reply
    • Even if you don’t want to try the soup , I highly recommend throwing a teaspoon of peanut butter, to 2 cups of mashed sweet potato. Its soooo yummy!

      Reply
  3. I actually love the sound of this!! I’m a big fan of things like peanut sauce in general and I bet the peanut butter goes great with sweet potato in this soup!

    Than again I’m also a peanut butter freak and will never turn it down : )

    Reply
  4. This is so interesting! I love sweet potato and I love peanut butter so it sounds fabulous to me!

    Reply
  5. I didn’t click away because I’ve tried this combination before and I know how fabulous it is. Now you’ve got me craving it again!

    Reply
  6. Would I add peanut butter to this soup? Um, YEAH! It sounds like the perfect compliment to sweet potatoes!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

