Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-12

I love me some coffee. The taste of course, but also the idea of having coffee stirs up the nostalgic notion of getting together with friends and catching up, or waking up early before everyone else and having a quit moment sipping on my coffee.

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-4
You know what I love just as much if not more than my coffee, the yummy goodies that go with it.

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-5

I cannot go to Starbucks, Tim Horton’s, of any coffee house , without grabbing a little something sweet to go with my coffee.

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-7

I swear sometimes I’ brew up a cup of coffee, just because I need something to drink with my cookie, Danish, or yummy, fresh out of the oven scones.

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-8Like these heavenly lemony, cranberry goodness. A friend of mine ask me if I could whip her up a batch of lemon cranberry scones… with lemon glaze… of course…. So being the good friend I am… I obliged. And of course I had to taste test one… or two… ok I ended up making another batch for her.

Meyer Lemon and Cranberry Scones-11

[Adapted from http://www.pastryaffair.com/blog/lemon-cranberry-scones.html%5D
1 ½ Cups of Flour
½ Cup of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
2 Tablespoons of Sugar
1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
2 Tablespoons of Meyer Lemon Zest (About 5 Meyer Lemons)
½ Cup of Cold Butter
½ Cup of Cream
1 Egg
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
¾ Cup of Dried Cranberries
Glaze:
1 Cup of Powdered Sugar
1-2 Tablespoons of Meyer Lemon Juice

Pre- Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl whisk flours, sugar, baking powder and salt. Set Aside.

Using a pastry blender, or 2 forks, mix Meyer lemon zest and cold butter into the flour mixture, until it resembles small grains. Stir in cranberries. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk, cream, vanilla and egg. Pour cream mixture into flour mixture, and stir until it comes together. I used a wooden spoon and then floured my hands to finish the job off. DO NOT OVER MIX.

Place dough on a floured surface and shape into a flat circle, it should be 1 inch thick. Cut into 6-8 triangles.

Place on a parchment lined baking sheet.

Whisk one egg white with 2 tablespoons of milk and brush over top scones.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until slightly brown. Allow to cool for 20 minutes, before drenching in lemon glaze.

For the glaze; in a small bowl , whisk together powdered sugar and Meyer lemon juice. You may need both tablespoons of lemon juice, it should be quite runny. Pour over cooled scones. Grab a cup of joe and relax!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Haha! I know exactly what you mean! Starbucks saw me coming a million miles away.. I just had a slice of their banana bread last week, it’s so delicious… but after paying about a million dollars for that slice of banana bread, I wondered why I just don’t make banana bread.. I could have made at least two loaves for what I paid for that one slice!! I still enjoyed it as I contemplated my irresponsible spending habits…

    I’ve never made a scone. I’ve eaten my fair share of them though! Maybe it’s time I give this a try.. Your photos are so beautiful Tracy..you’ve inspired me to try to make them. Hopefully mine will look as pretty as yours…and be just as delicious as yours look!! <3

    Reply
    • I hear you my friend, I have given o much money to them. Homemade is so much better. Although it is nice to sit and relax with a coffee and scone you didn’t make, even if you have to pay for it.

      Reply
  2. Ooh, I bet Meyer lemon and cranberry pair so well together! These look fabulous :)

    Reply
  3. I’ve never made scones before, but I really like them. The taste they usually have and their triangle shape! As I already told you I love lemon flavour in cakes, and here you something even better you’ve added cranberries!

    Reply
  4. I loooove me some scones and yours look great. I’m right there with ya: most times my coffee is just an excuse to eat baked goods. Oh well lol Great recipe , lovely pictures :-)

    Reply
  5. Beautiful scones! Lemon and cranberry sounds perfect :-)

    Reply
  6. Your scones look so great and yummy.
    I’am happy for stopped by here. Your blog is full of nice recipes.
    Chantal

    Reply
  7. I’m so with you – whenever I have dessert I feel like I need coffee to go with it! And my favorite time of the day is the morning, before anyone else gets up, when I’m alone with a cup! These scones sound wonderful – I’m all about lemon right now (well really any citrus) and with the cranberries…. so good!

    Reply
  8. These sound delicious! I love the combination of the lemon and cranberry. I’ve never made scones before but I definitely am going to give them a go with this recipe!

    Reply
  9. I did a version of the Starbucks lemon cranberry scone a while back, but I would love to make it again. This looks super fantastic!

    Reply
  10. Trina

     /  April 24, 2014

    Wonder what I should ask for next??? These were soooooo yummy…. I couldn’t stop eating the one you gave me. You know the famous words ‘I’ll just eat a little a save the rest!’ it was gone in no time.

    Reply
  11. wowww these look soooo amazing!!!! I think I saw them on Kristen’s blog before, and I think it’s awesome you like lemony stuff because citrus desserts are my FAVORITE. Beautiful job~

    Reply
  12. I love the combination of lemon and cranberries! Totally speaking to my tartness cravings lately. These look delicious!

    Reply
  13. Love a good scone and these look like a super combination! Love the addition of the glaze too! :)

    Reply
  14. Love this combo for scones!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

