Pizza Sauce

Hi there friends! I just want to give you a quick recipe, since I rambled on, on Tuesday with my monthly top ten.

Pizza Sauce-6

I usually post a recipe on Tuesday’s, but I also post my monthly top ten on the first day of the month, so you kinda got gypped (I totally had to look up the spelling for gypped) out of a recipe.

Pizza Sauce-2

So I thought, why not take the opportunity to post a staple, yet simple recipe. This Homemade pizza sauce.I am obsessed with pizza, and like many of you out there, I have come to the conclusion, homemade is better. Its so much more flexible. You can choose to put whatever you want on it, at home, and no one will judge you… except maybe your family.

Pizza Sauce-3
I used to use store bought pizza sauce on my homemade pizza… it just didn’t sit well with me. Why pay for something I can make at home for cheaper and it just taste better. It’s so simple to It also freezes well. I usually freeze them on portion sizes, which makes for a quick thawing.

Pizza Sauce-4
Homemade is better…am I right?

Pizza Sauce-6

Homemade Pizza Sauce

[Adapted from http://traceysculinaryadventures.com/2013/02/homemade-pizza-rolls.html%5D

1 Tablespoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 Small Onion, Diced
2 Teaspoons of Minced Garlic
3 Tablespoons of Tomato Paste
1 Teaspoon of Italian Seasoning (I use Club House)
1 14ounce Can of Diced Tomatoes

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add diced onions, garlic and Italian seasoning. Cook until onions are soft and translucent.

Stir in tomato paste. Cook for 1 minute. Add diced canned tomatoes with juice. Cook for 10 to 15 minutes.

Pour into a blender and puree.

TIP: Yay pizza sauce. I like to store mine in ziploc snack bags and freeze them. I put about a 1/3 of a cup in each bag. They take 5 minutes to thaw in warm water, then you simply cut the corner and squeeze out onto a pizza crust.

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I always buy store bought pizza sauce…never again! How simple and freezing it is a great idea. I never would have guessed that is how your spell gypped! ;)

    Reply
  2. Tracy…I’m hanging my head in shame!! I always buy the darn pizza sauce, Contadina to be exact!! No more store bought!! I’m going to make your recipe from now on… this is awesome.

    I laughed that you had to look up gypped. Lol… To be honest, I totally would have spelled it jipped. :-) I’m not kidding. I would have. I probably have already. :-)

    And honestly? You think you ramble? No way! I enjoy your posts…you make me laugh, and I never, ever consider it rambling. Or maybe I’m a rambler too… and I don’t recognize it as rambling… ;-) lol

    Reply
  3. I make homemade pizza once a week… I went through a similar scenario! I was using store-bought sauce on my homemade crust- and under my FABULOUS toppings!! I have been using food-milled san marzano tomatoes with a pinch of salt lately (freezing batches as well). Your sauce sounds awesome! I’ll have to try it when my reserves are gone :) Thanks!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

