Apple Pantry Bread

I must be in spring cleaning kinda of mood lately.

Apple Pantry Bread-9I mean last week I was all…” here is a pizza with everything from my fridge on it.”  And this week I’m making you a bread with everything from my pantry in it.

Apple Pantry Bread-2The real inspiration for this bread is my attempt at being a little more healthy. It just got a little out of control when I went looking for the coconut, and I was all “ I can add this, and I can add that”

Apple Pantry Bread-4In the end it turned out quit nice. I loved it so much, I didn’t even share it.

Apple Pantry Bread-5No I didn’t eat it all in one day… thought about it… Then it occurred to me that, that would defeat the purpose of it being healthy.

Apple Pantry Bread-7So I cut it up and froze it. So every time I wanted a slice (which was every night until it was gone) I would pull out a slice, heat it for 45 secs in the microwave and sprinkle a little powdered sugar and top with fresh blueberries. Perfect!

Apple Pantry Bread-10Go ahead and clean out your pantry and shove everything into this bread.
Apple Pantry Bread
¾ Cups each of All Purpose and Whole Wheat Pastry Flour ( or 1 ½ Cups of All Purpose Flour)
1 Cup of Quick Oats ( Not Instant)
1 Cup of Sugar
2 Teaspoons each of Baking Powder and Cinnamon
½ Teaspoon of Salt
¼ Teaspoon of Nutmeg
1/3 Cup of Shredded Coconut and Chopped Walnuts
½ Cup of 2% Evaporated Milk
2 Large Eggs
1/3 Cup of Unsweetened Applesauce
2 Tablespoons of Canola Oil
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla
2 Apples, Grated (About 2 Cups)
1 Large Carrot Grated ( About ½ Cup)
½ Cup of Blueberries

Pre-Heat you r oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9X5 inch loaf pan with non-stick spray.
In a large bowl, whisk flours, rolled oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Stir in the coconut and walnuts.
In a medium bowl, whisk the evaporated milk and eggs together. Mix in applesauce, canola oil, vanilla, apples, and carrots.
Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix until combined. Fold in blueberries.
Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 55 minutes, or until a toothpick comes clean from the centre.
Place on a cooling rack for 10 minutes, remove bread from pan and cool completely on cooling rack.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and blueberries to serve

 

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Looks delicious! I love the ingredients you used. I use the same freezer trick, too – doesn’t it do wonders? :)

    Reply
  2. Tracy, I love this. I love the great idea of slicing it up and throwing it in the freezer… Just today I was thinking about finding something to take to work that I could just pull out of the freezer and eat for lunch… this would be perfect for that!
    It looks absolutely delicious with all of those wonderful ingredients..apples, coconut, walnuts, carrots!! It just doesn’t get any better. I’m making this for sure. :-)

    Reply
  3. Love the ingredient list. This looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. Spring cleaning at it’s best. And you seriously ate it all yourself? I can see why. It’s lovely and beautiful. Your photographs are stunning. Such a nice recipe. I’ll have to try it!

    Reply
  5. Looks good Tracy :-)

    Reply
  6. Such gorgeous photographs – you’ve made me hungry! x

    Reply
  7. This look delicious and so flavoursome!

    Reply
  8. haha I definitely do that sometimes .. go to grab one ingredient and suddenly I’m adding a bunch of things! This bread looks awesome – so moist and packed with plenty of add-ins! Just the way I like it : )

    Reply
  9. Looks super delicious!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

