Caramelized Onion Brussel Sprouts Bacon and Goat Cheese Pizza

This pizza you guys… This pizza is to make up for last weeks plain old boring , but necessary pizza dough.

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza-6

Actually it wasn’t really all that boring… it was full of yummy garlic and it was a little healthy to, with the whole wheat and all.  Now you have something to put on your new garlic whole wheat pizza dough…THIS!

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza-5

I have a little bit of an issue, well kind of a addiction of pizza… I may have mentioned it before and will probably mention it again.  I love me some pizza.  I mean the possibilities are endless, you can put anything on it,… yes I mean anything.

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza-3

Its sort of like my grilled cheese addiction.. yet another food you can put anything in.  Maybe I should make a grilled cheese pizza… does that make sense?… is it even possible?… my mind is wandering.. sorry.

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza-2

Back to this pizza.  its sort of all my favorite things smashed on top of a pizza. I may have been cleaning out the fridge too.

But come on, whats not to love about all this stuff. Shredded brussel sprouts… good, caramelized onions.. good, bacon … good, goat cheese…good oh and I think there is a handful of mozzarella too.

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza

You don’t have to follow this pizza recipe, you can put whatever you want on yours.. prehaps its the end of the week and you need to clean out your fridge.

caramelized onion brussel sprouts bacon and goat cheese pizza-8

Let me know how yours turns out!

Caramelized Onion Brussel Sprouts Bacon and Goat Cheese Pizza

2 Tablespoons of Hummus
2 Tablespoons of Pizza Sauce
1/2 Cup of Mozzarella
5 Brussel Sprouts, Shredded
4 Slices of Bacon
1 Tablespoon of Butter
1 Large Onion, Sliced into Rings
Goat Cheese

Pre-Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare the super awesome whole wheat pizza dough from last week, or your favorite (pick mine!).  Roll it out and place it on a pan, that has been sprayed with non-stick spray.  I used a pizza stone.  I find its easier to roll out the dough onto parchment paper and slide it on the heated stone.

Heat a small-medium pan over medium heat,and cook bacon to desired crispness. **Note:don’t leave and try and fold your laundry, your bacon will burn

Heat a medium pan, over low-medium heat and melt 1 tablespoon of butter.  Add onion, and sprinkle in sugar.  Stir occasionally for about 20 minutes. Set aside. ** Note: The idea is to slowly brown them.  Usually this process can take up to 45 minutes… but we speed it up here with the sugar.  If the onions seem to be burning and getting hard, turn the heat down.

Spread 2 tablespoons of hummus and pizza sauce.  Sprinkle the mozzarella all over (you can add more if you want).  Spread the onions and bacon.  Dot the goat cheese all over the pizza.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the crust is brown and the cheese is bubbly.   If your using a pizza stone, leave it in for 5 extra minutes.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. This looks great, even with the controversial Brussel sprouts addition (I’m still on the fence about them)

    Reply
  2. Hm, never had a pizza with a touch of hummus! I like it, so the pizza should tastes awesome! :)
    Have a nice day!
    Mila

    Reply
  3. Ooooh, I’ve been trying to think of a good new pizza topping situation but I was at such a loss… THIS sounds perfect. Pinning!

    Reply
  4. Oh, my…this looks amazing. Pizza for dinner. Done. That was easy!!

    Reply
  5. Oh man, this pizza! We love pizza night at our house – it’s at least once a week! I’ve gotten really into brussels sprouts this year – I need to try this out! And my husband would love the bacon part…

    Reply
  6. Umm… I think you just put all my favorite “savory” words into one incredible pizza, Tracy! I want a big slice for dinner!

    Reply
  7. Yes!! Totally make a grilled cheese pizza..and call me when it’s ready!! I’ll bring the wine and dessert!
    Holy smokes Tracy, this looks so..SO delicious!! Like “I think I could eat the whole pizza” delicious! You knocked this one out of the park, my friend…
    Awesome post..

    Reply
  8. Oh goodness, this pizza sounds incredible! I love the combination of flavours that you’ve used. I’ve recently discovered a new-found obsession for goat cheese so this pizza sounds totally up my street.

    Reply
  9. This looks divine- I love making homemade pizza! :)

    Reply
  10. This pizza is amazing. I’ve been looking for fun new toppings and this is just it :)

    Reply
  11. This pizza looks incredible! I love the combination of toppings you have here. They really make the pizza, don’t they? Sure, I love a good cheese pizza – but those loaded with lots of savory toppings are my favorite. You’ve done a beautiful job here :)

    Reply
  12. thethirtyfifthyear

     /  March 30, 2014

    I’m totally going to try this since I have a love affair with brussel sprouts!

    Reply
  1. Yum, We Love Spring!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

