Whole Wheat Garlic Pizza Dough

Let’s talk TV…. I love me some TV…more to the point… I love me some 30 minute comedy TV.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-7

I am from generation TV.  My love affair started at a very young age with the classic 30 minute (22 without commercials) comedy.   80’s shows like Saved by The bell, Alf, Punky Brewster, Who’s the Boss, Growing Pains, the Cosby Show, heading into the 90’s, Fresh Prince, Friends, Seinfeld, Frasier, 30 rock from the sun…. I could literally type for 10 pages with the list of shows I watched growing up.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-3

Which brings me to my point, yes I have a point to all this yammering.  Where are all the good 30 minute comedy shows gone?  All we seem to watch these days are 60 minute dramas.  Don’t get me wrong, I could not live without my Downton Abby, Sherlock, or Supernatural, but I’m craving the simplicity of the 80/90’s comedy.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

I’m here to tell you , I have found a few hidden gems, and you must watch them with me… you will once again laugh out loud and not feel confined to your couch for 60 minutes.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-4

Here we go… Episodes… Matt Leblanc playing Matt Leblanc, with an edgy joey persona… LAUGH OUT LOUD funny….2 broke girls… a kind of obvious, bad one liner funny, worth a watch.  Oh and how about Trophy wife… 3rd hot wife, dealing with past wives and their children… I always hesitate to watch this, then it sucks me in.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-5

I have saved the Best for last… The Goldbergs… I’m in heaven with this show… its all about this family growing up in the 80’s.  Remember when you got excited when your mom bought the super long telephone cord, so you could leave the room to have a private conversations… that’s in this show.  Oh and they did a Goonies episode… nuff said.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-6

If you have any gems you’re watching, please share  I have a few more slots open for watching.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough-8

Oh ya, make this super awesome garlic whole wheat pizza dough, Its adapted from Ashley’s, and I even added the best tip for making it rise fast from Kelly…These Gals are geniuses…. It’s my go to crust.  It make 2 medium size crusts, I always freeze one for later.
P.S.  I promise not to bore you with a million dough pictures next week.   Maybe I’ll make some pizza with this dough.. YAY!

Whole Wheat Garlic Dough

[Adapted From http://cookiemonstercooking.com/2012/05/07/wheat-pizza-dough/]

1 1/4 Cup of Hot Water
1 Pack of Quick Rise Active Yeast
2 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
3 Cups of Flour
1 Cups of Whole Wheat Flour
1 ½ Teaspoon of Garlic Salt

In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk both the flours and garlic salt.  You can also just add to a regular bowl if you don’t have a stand mixer.

Run the water until its warm, measure out the warm water and pour into a medium bowl.  Add the olive oil.  Sprinkle the yeast over top the warm water.  Let stand for 5 minutes.

Pour the yeast mixture into the bowl with the flour.  If using a stand mixer, mix with the paddle until combined, it usually takes a couple turns.  Then replace the paddle with the dough hook, and let it run on low for 5 minutes.

If you don’t have a stand mixer, pour yeast mixture into the bowl with flour, and mix with a spoon until it comes together, then you use your hands to knead on a lightly floured surface for about 5 minutes.

Once the dough has been kneaded for 5 minutes, spray a large bowl with non-stick spray and place the dough in the bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap.

Start up your dryer and let it run for 3-5 minutes.  Stop the dryer and place the bowl with the dough into the dryer and let it sit for 15 -20 minutes.  It should double in size.  If not warm up the dryer again and place the bowl back in.

Once the dough has doubles in size, punch down.  Separate into 2 balls.  I usually use one and freeze the other.

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. I so share your love for the 30 min comedy shows. It is the only thing that relaxes me. Have you seen yesterday’s new 60min show “Believe”? Very good. I recommend it.

    As for the recipe, do you mean your clothes dryer? Never thought about it. You must use then low cycle then. Right?

    Reply
    • Yes I mean your cloths dryer… but you don’t put the dough in while its on, you just warm up the dryer, stop it and then place your dough (in bowl , covered) in the warm dryer.

      I will have to check out Believe, it sounds like my kind of show

      Reply
  2. Woo! I love that you used garlic salt – I’m trying that next time! The dryer tip is a great idea – I would have never thought of that! And I agree on the 30 minute comedies … I watched so many of those shows you listed growing up and they were the best. It does feel like nothing quite compares these days – I’ll have to check out some of the ones you suggested!

    Reply
  3. Oh yum… and GENIUS!! Heating up the dryer to proof the dough. Love it!! I’m definitely printing this recipe to try!! It’s a beautiful thing…

    Haha,.. yes, I do miss the silly sitcoms of the 80′s. I’m a true Seinfeld girl…I can pretty much name any episode there is.

    But I do love Two Broke Girls. It’s terrible acting, but still funny! Pathetically funny..

    I had to laugh at the long telephone cord thing…because that’s how my husband and I started going out back in 1985. I couldn’t stand the guy. I mean…could not stand him.
    My friends thought that we were a great match…so one day they decided to throw me in my bedroom closet, throw the telephone receiver in with me (unfortunately I had one of the very old fashioned phones that I couldn’t disconnect)… and they dialed his number. They wouldn’t let me out until I asked him out on a date.

    All would have been ok if I wasn’t highly claustrophobic… which sent me into full blown panic mode, and I couldn’t think my way out of this one.. So, as I was hyperventilating, I told him that I was locked in a closet, that Shari and Jackie wouldn’t let me out until I asked him out. He said yes. And here we are almost 30 years later. I still can’t stand him. ;-)

    Reply
  4. Love your photograph progression. The swelling ball of dough. :) I didn’t find it boring at all! Who’s the boss! Loved that.

    Reply
  5. That dough looks like heaven. The Goldbergs looks legit. I’m a Simpsons guy myself. I can’t wait to buy the whole boxed set, all 30 years worth, someday when it’s all said and done. Then, I will retire to the couch.

    Reply
  6. I could talk for hours with you on this. Seriously! Where have all the good comedies gone?! Remember T.G.I.F.??? Damn kids these days will never have anything as awesome as we had it. NEVER!!

    And whole wheat garlic pizza dough?? Hell yes!

    Reply
  7. Garlic pizza dough sounds like the best kind!! It would make any pizza so much better…

    Reply
  8. I’m beyond happy to come across a pizza crust heavy in the garlic!

    Reply
  9. Oh! That looks so good — love the pictures too! And you know I watched Trophy Wife once on a whim and I’ve been sucked in ever since. It’s much funnier than I expected — and I really really love Bert. He is just hilarious. I also just started watching House of Lies, maybe more of a black comedy with a bit of drama but it’s only 30 minutes long which really surprised me. Made it easy to stream all three seasons in one weekend!

    Reply
  10. That’s really great addition-garlic salt!!!:D

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

