Red Velvet Hot Chocolate

I realize that I’m just barely squeezing this in.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-14

Many of you are dreaming of spring, and thinking up meals and treats to get you in the mood for the upcoming warmer weather.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-10

So was I….. until I saw this!  I mean I’ve had red velvet cake before,  but red velvet hot chocolate!  What!  It took a lot of restraint not to lick my computer screen when I first saw this.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-12

I love the idea of red velvet.  It’s all fancy and decadent.  I know, it’s just chocolate with LOTS of red food coloring.  Someone already ruined the illusion for me.  Just like wrestling, I was perfectly content thinking it was real,  .. opps…. Are there still some of you out there that still think its real…. sorry.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-6

Even though I know the truth, I still feel all important drinking this.  Like somehow, I’m special.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-8

Don’t worry, you  can feel special too, come inside out of the cold and warm up with this, and dream of the upcoming spring season.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate-18

Just a side note, I totally devoured this after I took the photos, like I had red /chocolate whip cream all over my face devour.

Red Velvet Hot Chocolate

[Adapted from http://www.heathersfrenchpress.com/2014/01/red-velvet-hot-cocoa.html%5D

Whipped Cream

1/2 Cup of Heavy Whipping Cream
1 Tablespoons of Powdered Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

Hot Chocolate

1 Cup up Milk
1/2 cup of Chopped Dark Chocolate
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
3 Teaspoons of Red Food Coloring

For the whipped cream; Whip heavy cream, powdered sugar, and vanilla with an electric mixer, until you have sift peaks.  Set aside

Heat milk in a small pot, until warm, but not boiling.  Stir frequently so it doesn’t burn.  Remove from the heat.  Stir in the chopped chocolate and vanilla.  Stir until all the chocolate is melted. Stir in the red food coloring.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Tracy, this looks so red velvety delish…I can’t blame you for making it, I would have too…even if it was a 100 degree day! But then Ice would have been involved… hmm… maybe that’s something to think about!! Lol.

    Honestly, as always, your photos are gorgeous…and I am in love with that cup! Wonderful post! Now I want hot chocolate… :-)

    Reply
  2. I love anything red velvet! It’s my favorite! And this … this is a great idea!

    Reply
  3. This is a must post! it really brought me to my knees. I love the sound of this and especially loved the mug and presentation. Red velvet…oh my, this is wonderful.

    Reply
  4. This is such a lovely idea!

    Reply
  5. Oh my goodness, this looks amazing! I’m pinning this, can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  6. Oh, I know that mug ;) Yummy recipe!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

