Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding

Who wants to eat something healthy!

Chai Seed Pudding-11OK….. who thinks they should eat something healthy?  We all do,  right?  But lets face it, healthy doesn’t always equal yummy.

Chai Seed PuddingI visited a nutritionist a few years back… and she had me try a whole bunch of weird healthy foods.  Most of which didn’t stick.  She did give me a really good piece of advice… she said if you give something a month you’ll either incorporate it into your everyday, or you won’t.  Like I said, most of it didn’t stick… I did however get used to plain oatmeal.  I mean plain… taste like warm cardboard plain oatmeal.  But she was right, I ate some regular sugar added oatmeal recently and I felt like I swallowed a bowl of sugar.

Chai Seed Pudding-3I know we can get used to healthier things, but it’s not the instant satisfaction putting a yummy piece of cake in your mouth.

Chai Seed Pudding-5I will admit, on a rare occasion you can find something healthy that taste good.   This chai seed pudding is one of those occasions.

Chai Seed Pudding-6I was skeptical at first… what the heck is chia seed?, and how the heck is supposed turn into pudding?   Well my friends , not only is it the hair on top of your beloved 80’s sensation, CHIA PET, it’s also a super seed, full of all kinds of good stuff, like omega 3… and when you soak it… it explodes into pudding goodness.

Chai Seed Pudding-8And the toppings, well…. they are endless.  I was lucky enough to find a really fresh mango, and then I sprinkled chocolate shavings on top.. who doesn’t like chocolate.

Chai Seed Pudding-7Go ahead, be healthy, try this!  Trust me…. Although I did get used to eating warm cardboard.

Chai Seed Pudding-9P.S. My co-worker was the one who pointed out that I was eating chia pet hair…. thanks Sue.

[Adapted from http://www.domesticate-me.com/vanilla-chia-seed-pudding/%5D

2 Cups of Milk (I used 1 Cup of Coconut milk and 1 Cup of 1% Milk)
11/2 Teaspoons of Vanilla
2 Tablespoons of Maple Syrup
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
½ Cup of Chai Seeds (I bought mine at the bulk store)

Whisk together milk, vanilla, maple syrup and salt. Stir in chai seeds.  Make sure all the seeds are emursed in the milk mixture.  Cover with plastic wrap.  Leave in the fridge over night.  I took mine out every once and awhile I gave it a stir.

Put whatever topping you like.  Here are a few suggestions:

Mango and shaved chocolate

Fresh berries and a squeeze of lemon

Granola and dried cranberries

Maple syrup

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. This looks so good! I haven’t experimented with chia seeds much other than some baking or on top of salads. I love their texture and I imagine them to be fantastic with vanilla. Beautiful pictures :)

    Reply
  2. This looks so interesting and good! I’ve never had chia outside of tea, but this really sounds like a great recipe! Very cool! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. I literally JUST had this for breakfast. SO good!

    Reply
  4. I’ve never tried chia seeds before… maybe I should buy, beautiful pictures!

    Reply
  5. You have me so intrigued by this, Tracy! It looks so delish, like tapioca pudding! I need to give this a try. What a perfect little breakfast for work…I absolutely love how it looks in the jar, so pretty. And with the mango and shaved chocolate? Pure delight!! Yum.. As always, your photos are perfect! I’m heading to the grocery store at lunch, and I’m going to look for chia seeds to give this a try!! xx

    Reply
  6. After seeing this recipe no chia pet will ever be safe around me again. Haha, but seriously, this looks so delicious. And your photos are stunning, Tracy!!

    Reply
  7. I’ve been wanting to try chia seeds – I’ve never had them but have seem a few recipes that have made me rethink that! This looks delicious – you had me as soon as I saw the mango. Although the chocolate doesn’t hurt either : )

    Reply
  8. We have been wanting to make chia see pudding and this is the perfect recipe to try! I have been loving on chia seeds in my smoothies!

    Reply
  9. I’ve never used chia seeds and i’m a bit skeptical, but this does look delicious!

    Reply
  10. I’m game for anything with endless topping options…specially if one of those happens to be chocolate shavings:)

    Reply
  11. Great blog – love this recipe idea! Love chia seeds.

    Do you a contact form or e-mail on your blog? Thanks!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

