Roasted Vegetable and Meatball Soup

I did something really Canadian this weekend!

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs-6

No, I didn’t build and igloo, or play hockey…. Although, it would be really funny to watch me do either of those. I went skating on the Rideau Canal.  For those of you who don’t live in Canada, it’s the 2nd longest man made skating rink, and for those of you who do live in Canada and don’t know… shame on you!

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs

I was recently inspired to get outside more in the winter by a local radio station.  They had this women on ranting about how us northerners have turned into a bunch of wimps.

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs-3

She went on to interview people on the street to find out what people like about winter, and only a few people had positive things to say.  I know, I know it’s hard to get out when you look at the temperature and see -100, but come one this is nothing new to us.

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs-4

When I was 10, it didn’t matter how cold it was, I was running out the door with my mom chasing behind me with my toque (that’s Canadian speck for hat), screaming at me to do up my Jacket.  Where is that enthusiasm!

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs-5

So when I realized I had nothing planned on Saturday, and everyone was busy, I dug out my skates, grabbed my IPOD and headed downtown. I actually went on my own.  Now before you start feeling sorry for me, Mr PBandO had to work all weekend and most of my friends were busy , with Valentine’s Day plans…. Ok you can feel a little sorry for me.

Roasted Veggie Soup with meatballs-7

So put on your toque, do up your jacket and go outside… it’s not that bad!  When you come back in, warm up with some yummy meatball soup.  It’s gotta bit of kick to it!

[Adapted from Janet and Greta]

Soup

8 Large Roma Tomatoes, Seeded and Chopped
2 Red Peppers, Chopped (I used 1 red and 1 yellow)
1 Red Onion, Chopped
1 Tablespoon of Garlic, Minced
2 Tablespoons of Italian Seasoning (2 Tablespoons Each, Fresh Rosemary and Thyme)
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
2 Cups of Low Sodium Beef Broth
1 Cup of V8 Juice
2 Teaspoon of Basil (or ¼ Cup fresh Copped)
1 Tablespoon of Balsamic Vinegar
1 Teaspoon of Sugar
¼ Teaspoon Each, Salt, Pepper and Red Pepper Flakes
Meat Balls

1/2  Pound of Lean Ground Beef
¼ Cup of Onions, Chopped
¼ Cup Bread Crumbs
2 Tablespoons of Parmesan Cheese
1 Egg
½ Teaspoon of Italian Seasoning
¼ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper

Pre-Heat the oven to 450 Degrees.  Spray a large baking sheet with non-stick spray and set aside.

After chopping up the tomatoes, red peppers and onions, place in a large bowl and mix in olive oil, Italian seasoning and garlic.  After it’s mixed up well, lay the veggies out flat on your prepared baking sheet.  Try not to overlap too much.

Place in the oven for 15 minutes.  Remove from the oven, stir the veggies around, and return to the oven, but turn the oven to broil.  Broil for 10 minutes, checking frequently.  After 10 minutes remove from oven and set aside.

In a medium bowl , mix all the meat ball ingredients together, until just combines.  Roll into little balls, about a heaping teaspoon.  Set on a baking sheet. Set aside.

Take the roasted vegetables and place in a blender and puree, you can add a bit of the beef broth to help that process along.

Transfer the pure to a big pot and add the rest of the beef broth, v8 juice, basil, vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes.  Heat to a boil.

Drop all the meat balls into the soup, they will cook in the broth,  Keep on medium for about 10 minutes.

Your Done!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Sounds yummy and quite healthy! I’ve never made my own meatballs before!

    http://www.simplyhsquared.com

    Reply
  2. First, this soup sounds absolutely delicious – I make meatballs all the time but have yet to add them to homemade soup. I feel like that needs to change! And that must have been so fun going skating! (fun fact – I was a figure skater growing up and love ice skating! haha oh it makes me laugh now)

    Reply
  3. This looks simply fantastic. I had not though of putting meatballs in soup like this before, what a great idea!

    Reply
  4. I wish it got cold enough here. I’m seriously fed up with this weird cold but not cold but hammering down with rain weather. It stays at about 3C and rains all the time. This looks delicious. I just found a recipe for veggie meatballs so might have to try this with them. Yum.

    Reply
  5. Love all of the veggies in here! And those meatballs look delicious!

    Reply
  6. Your meatball soup looks delicious and you really tell a great story! Love the progression of photographs, which are lovely! Great post!

    Reply
  7. This made me happy Tracy! You are so right…I’ve been doing nothing but complaining about this cold snap we’re in…when in fact, my husband and I went snowshoeing last weekend, and it was so much fun to be up in the woods, the quiet, the trees, and our black lab Sophie. It felt really good to be outside, and in the end, I don’t remember feeling cold at all!! We decided that we need to force ourselves to do this more often, it was not only great exercise, but so good for the soul.
    And now for the soup… holy smokes, man!! That looks totally outta sight… Yum!! Printing this one as I’m typing.. xx

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

