Chocolaty Chocolate Chip Muffins

What is it about the Olympics that captures the attention of every Man, Women and child.

Chocolaty Chocolate Chip Muffins (1 of 1)-3

In the weeks leading up to the Olympics , all I could think about was NO more Hockey (NHL that is) for 2 whole weeks. Then, Mr PBandO started talking about the Olympics with great anticipation.  Really? I was totally ambivalent to the Olympics.  When ask if I was going to watch I was all “eh… probably not”.  You see, growing up, all I remember is my mom monopolizing the TV with all the skating competitions… boring!!  I was actually starting to miss the idea NHL hockey.

Chocolaty Chocolate Chip Muffins (1 of 1)

Funny thing happened this weekend I watched an entire mogul skiing competition.  Like watched it… the whole thing… even offered up some of my own professionally commentary…. what?  I could be a professional judge; I judge things all the time in my daily life.

Chocolaty Chocolate Chip Muffins (1 of 1)-2

I just stopped writing this post to ask what was happing with women’s luge…  luge?  What’s happening to me? I guess my whole point here is… Olympics, you have me hooked… GO TEAM CANADA!

Chocolaty Chocolate Chip Muffins (1 of 1)-4

Oh ya… I made us chocolate muffins, because chocolate muffins and the Olympics go hand and hand.  That’s a thing right?

[Adapted From http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/04/dark-chocolate-blueberry-muffins/]

1 Cup of Flour
1 Cup of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 ½ Teaspoons of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Salt
2 Tablespoons of Cocoa Powder
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2/3 Cups of Brown Sugar
1 Egg
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
¼ Cup of Melted Butter
1 Cup of 1% Milk
1 Cup of Chocolate Chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line muffin tin with paper liner, set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together both flours, Baking soda, salt, cocoa powder and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together brown sugar,  1 egg (beaten), vanilla, melted butter, and milk.

Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, mix until combined.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Using an ice cream scoop, or a large spoon, divide batter amongst the 12 lined muffin cups.

Bake for 20 25 minutes, or until centers are set.  Use a tooth pick to test the doneness (is that a word?).

Allow to cool on a wire rack.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I always walk away smiling after I read your posts… I totally get what you’re saying!!
    Yum.. Chocolate muffins.. Yes. Please. Now. :-)

    Reply
  2. These look super delicious! You cannot beat a good chocolate muffin- amazing recipe! :)

    Reply
  3. haha I hear ya – I was the same way thinking I wouldn’t really watch anything but somehow I find myself watching quite a few events! These muffins sound delicious too – so chocolatey!

    Reply
  4. My kids love your muffin!!!!! My 5 yr old son had 3 at one time!!
    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  5. I’m doing the same thing with the olympics! I’m totally judging and coming up with my own gold,silver and bronze medal winners, and it is quite different at times than what the “real” judges award. Love your muffins…wish I had one right about now, with a cup of tea.

    Reply
  6. Lol you just can’t help but be sucked in! I’m not a huge sports fan (umm…maybe I should be more accurate and say I’m not a sports fan period) but I LOVE the Olympics. Just like I love your chocolatey chocolate chip muffins! Give me a dozen of these and a tv tuned into the CBC, I’ll be in heaven!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

