Crispy Corn-Flake Chicken Fingers

This is one of the very first meals I ever cooked for Mr PBand O and my step-daughter.

Cornflake Chicken Fingers (1 of 1)-7

Cooking for her and her father used to really stress me out.   I have mentioned in the past how picky Mr PBandO can be, well there used to be two of them.

Cornflake Chicken Fingers (1 of 1)-2

I did go from cooking for a roommate who ate anything (except peas… weirdo),  to two very different picky eaters.  Ya that’s right, they didn’t even like the same stuff.

Cornflake Chicken Fingers (1 of 1)-3

On top of all this I’m a foodie, and I have stomach issues of my own.  I would plan meals weeks in advance, and I became the master of making two meals at once.  I know there are some of you out there that are like “get over it Tracy, I have 3 picky kids”  I know, I’m a big whiner.. I’m done complaining

Cornflake Chicken Fingers (1 of 1)-4

These days I’m very proud of them.  Both my step daughter and her father have since evolved, and will try pretty much anything.

Cornflake Chicken Fingers (1 of 1)-8

So if you have some picky eaters in your house, give these a try, clearly I’m the only one in the universe that has ever had to deal with picky eaters and I am the expert

[Adapted from Crazy Plates Cook Book]

2 Skinless, Boneless Chicken Breasts
¾ Cup of Whole Wheat Flour
2 Teaspoons of Italian Herbs mix ( I use Club House)
1 Teaspoon of Garlic Salt
½ Teaspoon Each of Salt and Pepper
3-4 Cups of Corn Flakes
2Tablespoons of Parmesan Cheese
1 Cup of Buttermilk

Pre- Heat oven 400 degrees

Spray a cookies sheet with non-stick spray.  Set aside.

Cut chicken into strips, and pat down with a paper towel, set aside.

Take out 3 bowls, I use pie plates or bigger than cereal bowls.  In one bowl, stir flour , Italian seasoning, garlic salt, pepper and salt.

To crush the cornflakes, place them in a Ziploc bag, try and take out all the air.   Roll over the cornflakes with a rolling pit, until they are pretty crushed.  You should have about 1 ½ to 2 Cups. Mix the crushed cornflakes and Parmesan cheese in another bowl.

In the last bowl pour in the buttermilk.

This part gets messy. I find if I use one hand for the dry ingredients and one hand for the wet ingredients, its less messy. Working one at a time, coat the chicken in flour, dip in buttermilk, shake off the excess.  Roll in the crushed cornflakes.  Place on the prepared cookie sheet.

Bake for 35-40 minutes.  Check after 35 minutes to make sure they don’t burn.

Enjoy!!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Haha!! I so feel your pain… my husband and son are both picky eaters. My son more so than my husband. The difference between the two, is that my son loves to eat, but is fussy. My husband hates to eat. He doesn’t understand the hype of food, and only eats to nourish without enjoying the meal. With my love of food and cooking, this breaks my heart!!

    And if my husband knew I was saying this, he’d look at me as if I just lost my mind, because in his mind, he’s not fussy. But every single time I try a new recipe, I get the rolling of the eyes, and deep heavy sighs!! Lol… and then… if my husband absolutely hates the meal, nothing is said about it, but the dish is returned to me with a napkin covering it, just like they cover dead bodies with sheets!! :-)

    This is definitely a recipe that my family loves. When I make cornflake crusted chicken, they’re happy. The world isn’t about to end, and there is peace within the household!!

    Fun post!! You make me laugh..and I can promise you, you’re not alone in the universe!! :-)

    Reply
  2. These look great! My mom used to make something similar but with potato chips! All because my sister was super picky …. like crazy picky. I’m lucky with my husband – he’ll eat pretty much anything I put in front of him!

    Reply
  3. You can’t go wrong with chicken fingers! I love the corn flake coating!

    Reply
  4. Yummy, chicken goodness. Chicken always tastes better in a crispy coating. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Yum, chicken fingers is one of the best dinners! Love how crispy the chicken is too!

    Reply
  6. These look so good! I am also dealing with a picky eater and I am confident he would gobble these up! Thanks for sharing :)

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

