Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake

I am not going to be late to the party this year. Last year around this time I kept seeing all these yummy recipes with this odd little citrus fruit called a Meyer lemon.

Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (1 of 1)-2

You know what I did? I waited until March to go looking for them.  I had never actually heard of a Meyer lemon before and figured I’d be able to find them anywhere, anytime.  I was obviously living under a rock, right?

Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (1 of 1)-6

Of course when I went to look for Meyer lemons, it was like trying to find fresh figs in Ottawa in September.  Now I know that little beauties are easiest to find, in January and early February.

Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (1 of 1)-11

Anyway , back to last year, in March… I did end up finding them, at heafty cost, and they become the star ingredient in my very first post.

Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (1 of 1)-12

As I was saying in the beginning, I’m not late to the party this year.  This year I give you this awesome Meyer lemon coffee cake. This combines 2 of my favorite things… Meyer lemons and coffee cake.  Who doesn’t like coffee cake?!  It always makes me think of a lazy Sunday afternoon, curling up on the couch on a cold winter day with a hot cup of coffee and a piece of cake.  Because apparently I live in a coffee commercial.

Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake (1 of 1)-13

Enjoy!

[Adapted From http://www.amandajanebrown.com/2013/03/meyer-lemon-coffee-cake.html]

Cake

2 Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
½ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Salt
1/3 Cup of Butter, Softened
1 Cup of Sugar
1 Egg, Beaten
1 Tablespoon of Meyer Lemon Zest
½ Cup of Meyer Lemon Juice
½ Cup of Buttermilk

Crumble

1/3 Cup of Sugar
½ Cup of Flour
1 Tablespoon of Meyer Lemon Zest
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Tablespoon of Meyer Lemon Juice
2 Tablespoon of Butter, Melted

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Line the bottom of a spring form pan with parchment paper, and grease the sides with butter, set aside.

For the crumble topping;  in a medium bowl,  whisk sugar, flour, lemon zest, and salt with a fork.  Pour in the Meyer lemon juice and melted butter, fluff with a fork until crumbly looking, set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt, set aside.

In a large bowl,  beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the beaten egg and 1 tablespoon of Meyer lemon zest,  Meyer lemon juice, and buttermilk, mix until combined.  Slowly add the flour mixture, until smooth.

Pour batter into prepared spring form pan.  Sprinkle crumble over top.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I adore crumble cakes! This one looks soo tasty!

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous lemons!

    Reply
  3. I love coffee cake too – and definitely having a piece with a cup of coffee! This sounds delicious with the meyer lemons – I feel like I always somehow miss them in the stores each year … I need to pay closer attention!

    Reply
  4. Better late than never though!! I’m just glad you discovered them, and now we have this lovely recipe. Your photos are beautiful… and I totally cracked up about the coffee commercial.. :-)

    Reply
  5. This looks oh so yummy! Love a good citrus cake!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

