Bacon and Egg Breakfast Bites

Egg and Toast cups (1 of 1)-8

What’s with me and breakfast lately?  I fell like all I show is breakfast.  I will say this, the good thing about breakfast is you can have it any time.  Snack, brunch, lunch, dinner, and even in the morning.

Egg and Toast cups (1 of 1)

I go through these stages where all I want to do is get up on Sunday and prepare these huge brunches, filled with crepes, sausage, Bacon, eggs, and some sort of delicious pastry.  Then I realize, I’m entirely to lazy for that.

Egg and Toast cups (1 of 1)-4

And Mr. PBandO just end up going to our neighborhood greasy spoon.  I loooove greasy spoons, don’t’ you?   It brings me back to my younger days, rolling out of bed at around noon, and heading out for a greasy breakfast.  But I digress.

Egg and Toast cups (1 of 1)-6

Once and a while, I actually do get off the couch and makes some pancakes, cinnamon buns, and these awesome little all in one breakfast treats. These are so easy to make.  I feel bad posting it as a recipe, it’s THAT easy.  But I had to share!

Egg and Toast cups (1 of 1)-7

Maybe next week I’ll post something other than breakfast….. probably not though!  YAY breakfast!

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/330179/bacon-egg-and-toast-cups]

2 Slices of Whole Wheat Bread
2 Tablespoons of Melted Butter
2 Slices of Bacon
2 Eggs
Salt and Pepper

Pre-Heat Oven to 375 Degrees. Spray a muffin tin with no-stick spray.

Cook bacon, drain fat and set aside.

Lay out your bread on a cutting board.  Using a rolling pin, flatten out the bread, to about ¼ inch.  Cut into a 4 to 5 inch circles.  I used a soup bowl for the size.

Melt butter in microwave for about 20 seconds or until melted.

Gently press the bread into prepared muffin tin.  Brush with melted butter.  Lay bacon in the bottom of the bread. Crack an egg into each bread cup.  Sprinkle salt and pepper.

Put in the oven for 30-30 minutes, or until the egg is set.

You could totally add cheese between the bacon and the egg.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. These are fun! I’ve been wanting to make something like this for a while now – I love the way the egg looks sitting inside the bread! And I bet they are delicious – especially with that bacon!

    Reply
  2. LOVE these!! I cannot wait to make them for my son. He will be singing your praises for sure! and I’ll be the “great mom” for the day!! :-) Ok, who am I kidding? I’ll be the great mom for about an hour. Or for as long as it takes him to eat them.. ;-)

    Reply
  3. These are so cute! What a great breakfast alternative!

    Reply
  4. I love egg in ‘baskets’ for breakfast! :) Yours looks tasty!

    Reply
  5. These look so cute! I am most definitely going to try them!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

