Light and Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes

I’m in love….. with pancakes.

Light anf Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes (1 of 1)-3

Not just any pancakes, these light and fluffy ricotta pancakes.   It’s kind of funny, because I don’t even like pancakes… much less love them.  They always seemed to … doughy… to thick …to tasteless  (except for my sister’s pancakes, hers rock!).

Light anf Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes (1 of 1)

I have tried to make pancakes before, but they never turned out.  So when I saw these on one of my favorite show ‘In the Kitchen with Stefano’ I thought, I’ll give it one more try.

Light anf Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes (1 of 1)-2

It may have been the title he gave them, Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes.  If you want me to make something, or even buy something, just put a couple of buzz words in front o fit, and I’m in…. ya I was that kid growing up.

Light and Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes6 (1 of 1)

I don’t think it’s the ricotta cheese in these that make them so light and fluffy and delicious… it thinks it the whipped egg whites

Light anf Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes (1 of 1)-4

So pull up a chair and have some breakfast, for dinner, lunch, snack, or if your feeling adventurace…. have them for breakfast.  And eat at least a stack of 8… that way I wont feel bad for polishing off a stack of six.  In my defense, they were small……ish.

Ricotta Pancakes

[Adapted from http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-fluffy-ricotta-pancakes-48085 ]

¾ Cup of Flour
½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
1 ½ Teaspoon of Sugar
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Ricotta Cheese
½ Teaspoon of Vanilla
¾ Cup of Milk
3 Eggs

Separate eggs into 2 bowls.  Make sure the whites are in a bowl big enough to whip them.  Whip the egg whites until they have stiff white peaks.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, sugar and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together ricotta cheese, vanilla and milk, until blended, add the egg yolks.  Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, until mixed well.  It will appear lumpy.

Fold the egg whites into the batter, gently.

Heat a skillet and add 2 teaspoons of butter, or just enough to cover the bottom of the skillet once melted.

Drop approximately 1/3 of a cup of batter into the heated skillet, flatten out with the bottom of the measuring cup.  Cook until the side show small bubbles, flip, cook for 3 minutes on the other side.

Server with fresh fruit and icing sugar.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Tracy, this looks divine…. absolutely beautiful. I mean, you could honestly frame that picture!! I need to try these pancakes, and I was just thinking about what to make for dinner tonight, I think you just figured it out for me! :-) I just need to pick up some strawberries after work!!

    Reply
  2. These look incredible! I’ve been struggling for ages to find really fluffy pancakes. Will definitely give these a try.

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous!! I love the idea of folding whipped egg whites into pancake batter! I have to give these a try :)

    Reply
  4. These look great! I actually love pancakes, but I agree that everyone should stay away from flat, tasteless doughy ones.. I actually just posted a fluffy pancake recipe on my blog too! I guess great mind think alike… Thanks for the recipe

    Reply
  5. These are gorgeous! Fluffy is just how a pancake should be, and these nail it!

    Reply
  6. Oh these look so good! I’m not usually a pancake kinda girl but you won me over with fluffy – too often pancakes are so dense (which is not my thing). I also love that there is ricotta in here! I made muffins with ricotta a long time ago and loved them – so I have a good feeling about these babies!

    Reply
  7. Woooow!!!!!! I’m falling in love with these pancakes tooooo!!! and who wouldn’t they surely do look deliciously airy and light! I’ve never added egg whites to my pancake batter and I think it’s time to change my recipe and use this one! Double thumbs up! :D *-*

    Reply
  8. These are on like every brunch menu at restaurants in SF, but it’s great to be able to make them at home!

    Reply
  9. Looks great i love peanut butter, i looked around do you have a post on buckeyes? Thank You!

    Reply
  10. what a perfect start to the day. I love pancakes but have never made ricotta ones before, may have to give these a whirl.

    Reply
  11. These look delicious! I’m a huge fan of anything with ricotta!

    Reply
  12. I have never really been a pancake kind of girl, until recently. What changed? I have no idea….but they are so good! These look yummy and the ricotta kind of caught my attention. Never thought to put that in a stack of flapjacks :) May have to give it a whirl!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

