Totally Worth It, Spinach Salad

Ok, I give in!  Everyone seems to be posting all this healthy junk.  I guess I should too.

spinach salad (1 of 1)

Truthfully I usually hate salad.   Ya I said it!   I don’t hate all salad.  Your gonna laugh at me when I tell you the real reason I hate salad.  It’s a lot of work.  It has always seemed silly to me to put in that much work for a salad.  If someone else , makes it, I’ll probably eat it.

spinach salad (1 of 1)-2

So when the year started, and I kept seeing all of these healthy salads, I thought, fine, I’ll find one I deem worth all the work.

spinach salad (1 of 1)-3

This is what I settled on this.

spinach salad (1 of 1)-4

I believe we have a winner.  I actually think this one is worth the work.  At the end of all that chopping, I sat down and actually enjoyed this salad.

spinach salad (1 of 1)-6

Now I wont lie, I would have enjoyed it a lot better if someone else had do all the work.  Maybe you can come over and make me another one.

[Adapted from one of my favorite cookbooks, Eat ,Shrink and Be Merry]

1 Can of Mandarins, With Syrup
3 -4 Cups of Fresh Baby Spinach Leaves
2 Cups of Mushrooms
4 Slices of Bacon
1/2 Cup of Red Onions, Sliced Thinly
1 Teaspoon of Garlic, Minced
3 Tablespoons of White Vinegar
2 Tablespoons each of Honey Mustard, and Maple Syrup
2 Hard Boiled Eggs
1/2 Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper

Drain the syrup out of the mandarins, and set aside both.  (You need about a ½ cup of syrup)

In a large salad bowl, put the spinach, mandarins and sliced mushrooms.

Hard boil the eggs.  Place the eggs in a medium pot.  Cover the eggs so that there is 1 inch or water above the eggs. Place on a burner over medium to high heat. Bring to a boil.  Allow to boil to 2 minutes.  Remove the pot from the heat.   Allow to rest for 10 minutes.  Remove the eggs from the water, using a slotted spoon.  Allow to cool completely before remove the shells.

In a medium pan, fry up the bacon over medium heat until crispy.  I like to cut my bacon in half, it makes it easier to fit it in the pan.  Once crispy, place on a paper towel, and pat dry.  Chop up and sprinkle over spinach

Leaving the fat in the pan, cook the garlic, red onions, and reserved mandarin syrup.  Cook until the onions are soft, about 4 minutes.  Add the vinegar, mustard and salt and pepper, cook for about 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Remove the shells from the egg. I usually tap the egg lightly on my counter top, until all the shells is cracked.  Gently remove the shell.

Cut the egg into slices.  Mine got a little sloppy, I have yet to purchase one of those egg slicers.  Its ok, it all goes in your tummy.  Add the eggs to the salad.

Pour the warm dressing over the salad, and mix gently.

Enjoy, I know I did.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Yum… just YUM. This salad looks so delicious Tracy! <3

    Reply
  2. Juliet

     /  January 7, 2014

    Well…being French as in from France we make salad – ALOT of it because it is with literally every meal, yes we have them even for breakfast and I love, love them and can eat them till I die but like you Tracy I hate to prepare them! So I married this Alsatian who has NO issues with prepping the lettuce for me or any other veggie….now to get him back from Brussels…in the mean time though I have come to get around the work and the vinaigrette I do with my eyes closed and this is the crux of salad to me. If the vinaigrette comes from a bottle toss the salad….if you ,make it in less than a nano second then it is a winner so the next we meet I will trade with you how I have manoeuvered out of this one too. Bravo though!

    Reply
  3. Wow this salad does look awesome! It’s really close to one that I get at a local restaurant that I love – I need to try making it at home instead!

    Reply
  4. looks totally worth it ;) We are big salad eaters but I must admit I usually outsource all the rinsing & chopping to Miss8 :)

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

