Apple Dutch Pancake For Christmas Morning

Tree is up, presents are wrapped, dinner is planned, and family is on their way.  We are all ready for Christmas!

Apple Dutch Pancake (1 of 1)

I’m writing this waiting for my family to arrive.  All of a sudden all I want to do is curl up in my bed and sleep through it.  I’m not a Scrooge, I swear, I’m actually the opposite.  I always get this way, just before the festivities begin.

Apple Dutch Pancake (1 of 1)-2

When you’re a kid all you have to do is get excited.  Someone else takes care of all the behind the scenes Christmas magic.  My step-daughter asked me the other day, if you get less excited for Christmas as an adult.  I had to be honest, we kind of do.

Apple Dutch Pancake (1 of 1)-3

I think it’s all the planning and baking and decorating and wrapping and cleaning… shall I go on.  It’s not that we aren’t excited; we just sometimes forget what it’s all about.  For me, the best time is after Christmas dinner on Christmas day.   Every one is full and happy, all the presents are opened and being enjoyed and I look around, and realize, that I had a big part to play in how happy and content everyone is on Christmas.  And that’s what I do it all for.

Apple Dutch Pancake (1 of 1)-4

It’s now my turn to help in making the magic happen behind the scenes.  That’s what makes me excited, or rather, Happy at Christmas.   There’s my doorbell, let the festivities begin.

Apple Dutch Pancake (1 of 1)-5

Oh ya, before I go, I made you this, maybe you can make it on Christmas morning?  I ate the whole thing, I’m not even kidding.

Apple Dutch Pancake

3 Tablespoons of Margarine or Butter
3 Apples, Peeled and Sliced Thin (Any Kind of Apple)
1/3 Cup of Brown Sugar
½ Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2 Tablespoons of Sugar
½ Cup of Milk
½ Cup of Flour

Melt 1 tablespoon of margarine in a cast iron skillet. Add apples and brown sugar and cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently. Set aside

In a medium bowl mix cinnamon, sugar, milk and flour.  Stir until well blended.

Pour over the apples, and bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until the center is done.

If your cast iron skillet is really well seasoned (mine is not) you should be able to shake it and flip it onto a plate.  Or you can take a spatula and cut little slices out directly from the skillet.   I put maple syrup on mine.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. What a wonderful post. My sentiments exactly. The recipe looks so delicious…and one of these days, I’m going to try making a dutch pancake. This one looks like the perfect place to start!!

    Have a lovely Christmas my friend… <3

    Reply
  2. Our recipes are very similar, although yours came out much prettier :) (I too agree with the relief of Christmas day)

    Reply
  3. My favorite breakfast!I just made this the other day.

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

