Acorn Squash Bisque

Today in the midst of all this cold weather, we need something warm! It’s at least -125.  I’m not being dramatic at all… I think my eyeballs froze shut for a moment when I first walked outside.

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)

There is really only one way to warm up in this ridiculous weather, so I bring to you this yummy, warm and comforting acorn squash bisque.  Bisque is really just a fancy word for soup.

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)-2

I feel like I have neglected this poor little squash for way to long.  I often pass it in the grocery store while I’m searching for its more popular cousin, the butternut squash.  I love butternut squash… I mean I could eat it every day.  But the acorn squash I have more than once turned my nose up at.  It’s really not fair.

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)-6

Finally the other day as I browsing the different squashes, a little acorn squash called out to me, “pick me, buy me, I’m yummy too”  yes, vegetables talk to me in the grocery store.. .(in my head)

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)-5

So I picked up that little acorn squash and I made us this bisque!

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)-4

Don’t be like me, and neglect the other squashes of the world, you might find a new taste that blows your mind, like this acorn squash did to me.

Acorn Squash Bisque (1 of 1)-3

Acorn Squash Bisque

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/336548/acorn-squash-bisque]

2 Acorn Squash (Sometimes they are called Pepper Squash)
2 Tablespoons of Butter
1 Small Onion, Diced
1 Teaspoon each of Salt and Pepper
1 ½ Teaspoon of Ground Sage
¾ Cup of Chicken or Vegetable Broth
½ Cup of Cream

Pre-Heat your oven to 450 degrees

Cut both acorn squash in half.  Place cut side down on a greased baking sheet.  Cover completly with tin foil.  Bake for 30 Minutes.

Spoon out the flesh from the squash and place in small bowl. Set aside.

Heat butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Add diced onions and garlic.  Cook until onions are tender, about  4 minutes.  Add sage, salt and pepper, cook for 1 more minute.  Set aside.

Take out your blender and add the squash, onions, and chicken broth, blend until pureed. Pour back into skillet and add cream.  Stir and heat through.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lol… I love this. What a simply gorgeous soup. I love acorn squash, and have never thought of acorn squash soup. Brilliant. And lovely. Brilliant. And Lovely. And delicious. Brilliant and lovely and delicious for sure… <3

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

