Browned Buttered and Cardamom Sugar Cookies

That’s right people, it is cookie time…. I mean Christmas time. Which in my mind is cookie time. It’s really the only time of year I can justify baking a dozen or so different kinds of cookies, otherwise I would probably just look like a crazy cookie lady and weigh about 50 lbs heavier.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)-4

Lucky for me, at Christmas time, I have a lot of people in my life that love cookies as much as I do, so I don’t eat them all myself….even though I kinda want to.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)

This is why when I heard about the great food blogger cookie swap, I didn’t even hesitate, I just clicked YES.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)-2

I did give a brief explanation of what this was all about in my new monthly top ten.  It’s my number 2.  Basically you bake a bunch of cookies and mail them out to fellow food bloggers and you receive a bunch of cookies…… Umm cookies mailed directly to my house… yes PLEASE.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)-3

I received cookies Not Crocker , Gastronomical Sovereignty and Sweet Twist of Fate , and can I just tell you, I’m in a bit of a cookie coma.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)-7

These are the ones I made. I really like sugar cookies and I am a bit obsessed with browned butter at the moment… so voila,,, browned butter and cardamom sugar cookies, with some trashed up Christmas sprinkles.

Browned Butter and Cardamom Sugar Cookies (1 of 1)-6

I hope everyone gets to enjoy some Christmas cookies this season!

[Adapted from Better Homes and Garden Christmas Cookie 2010]

1 Cup of Unsalted Butter
1 ½ Cup of Sugar
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
1 Teaspoon Cream of Tartar
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon Each of Cardamom and Cinnamon
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
2 ¾ Cups of Flour
¼ Cup of Course Sugar (or regular)
½ Teaspoon of Cardamom

Melt butter in a small pot.  Stirring frequently, until brown and oh so yummy.  It takes about 10 minutes. Allow to cool completely.  Place in the fridge, covered for about 30 minutes.

In a large bowl, stir together sugar and browned butter.  Make sure you use every last bit of the browned butter, especially the browned bits.

Once combined, stir in eggs, and vanilla.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, cardamom, cinnamon, and salt.

Add the flour, about a half a cup , at a time, until all the flour is mixed in.  I shaped mine into a ball.  Cover the bowl and place in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease cookie sheet with butter or non-stick spray.  I use a silicon baking matt.  LOVE IT!

Place the ¼ cup of course sugar and cardamom, into a small bowl.

Remove from the fridge.  Roll cookie dough into 1 inch balls, and roll around in the sugar.  I had trouble getting the sugar to stick, so I wet my hands with cold water.  Place on the prepared cookie sheet, 2 inches apart.  Bake for 12 minutes.

Allow to cool on a cooling rack…and ENJOY!

For more recipes, http://www.peanutbutterandonion.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Huge thank you for the delicious cookies! They didn’t last long.

    Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  2. I’ve seen a few recipes using browned butter lately! I’m just afraid I will actually end up burning mine! lol! These look delicious!

    Reply
  3. Don’t worry – we can get fat together ;) We’ll be fat cookie eaters and love every minute of it (and the feminist inside me is screaming “and love your fat bodies too!!!!”)!! I hope you liked my cookies – I know they were kind of gigantic but MASON JARS!!! I don’t mind eating big cookies if they’re shaped like mason jars ;)

    It’s been wonderful getting to know you – let’s keep up with each other. Also…

    Your cookies look insane. I love the dark chocolate nutty goodness…. You’re sending me some, right? ;) Happy Food Blogger Cookie Swap Day!!

    Reply
  4. These cookies are so much fun!

    Reply
  5. Love the festive sprinkles. Perfect for the holidays. Brown butter is fabulous in any baked goods. YUM!

    Reply
  1. The 2013 Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap Round Up Part 2 | the little kitchen
  2. December Monthly Top Ten | PeanutButter and Onion

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

