Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles

Truffles… ya sure, no problem, I’ll whip up a batch of those, not a big deal, right……. Wrong!

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles (1 of 1)

I’ve been seeing all kinds of truffles all over the blogging community, and growing up, my aunts homemade truffles were my favorite things to eat at Christmas.

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles (1 of 1)-2

I mentioned these truffles to Mr. PBandO, and he was so excited, he even offered to help make them.  I did end up on my own with this one, let me tell you, I could have used to help.

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles (1 of 1)-5

The balls themselves were relatively easy to make, (and yes I realize what I just typed, and then I giggled a little), it was dipping said balls in the chocolate that was a huge pain! (still giggling… what am I 5 years old)

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles (1 of 1)-4

After about 30 minutes of total failure, I gave in and googled “How to coat truffles in chocolate”.  I found this.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7Fmt9fDdRQ.

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles (1 of 1)-3

I want to say in the end these were worth it….but the only way I would utter those words is if someone else made them.  They were really good, you just need to have some experience… and not think you’re a hot shot, super star baker and expect to get it the first time…. Tracy

Peanut Butter Crispy Truffles

[Adapted from http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/12/crispy-chocolate-peanut-butter-cookie-dough-truffles/ ]

2 Cups of Peanut Butter
2 ½ Cups of Powdered Sugar
6 Tablespoon of Soft Butter
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla
1 Cup of Crispy Rice Cereal
3 Cups of Really Good Quality Chocolate

In a large bowl, mix the peanut butter, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla together, until blended well. Stir in rice crisp cereal , ½ a cup at a time, until it’s all combined.

Roll into 1 inch balls, I used a tablespoon.  Place them on a baking tray, and put into the freezer for 1 hour.

While they are setting in the freezer, melt the chocolate in a double broiler.

Remove the balls from the freezer.  Put a piece of parchment paper on another baking sheet.  Place a ball on a fork, spoon the chocolate over top.  Using a knife, knock the handle of the fork gently to smooth out the chocolate. (us the video).  Place the ball on the parchment.

I did these 3 at a time, it got really messy, but I got into a rhythm over time.  Place all the chocolate coated balls into the fridge, until the chocolate dries.

Now go get someone else make them!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I hate when a recipe is a lot harder than you think it will be! But your truffles turned out so well!! And they look delicious!!

    Reply
  2. I love making truffles!! I’ve never made any with peanut butter … clearly that needs to change asap.

    Reply
  3. These look delicious! Love peanut butter. Great post!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

