Mocha Madeleines

I have a weird obsessions with British TV.   Coronation street,  Downton Abby,  Are you being served? … and recently Dr. Who.  I know I’m a little late to the party on that one.  Hello 50th anniversary special.  I kinda wish that I lived in a Tradis, with a peculiar British alien….. like really!

Mocha Madeleines (1 of 1)-5If you’re an avid British TV watcher, you will have noticed something I did.  All the good, I mean REALLY good episodes, are the 1-2 hour specials.

Mocha Madeleines (1 of 1)

So when they announced this special in the summer, I started my countdown.  It went up on the calendar with the Downton Abby season 4 premier (which will also be a special)

Mocha Madeleines (1 of 1)-3

The brits do it right when it comes to TV.  And the French do it right when it comes to little French tea cakes, enter really nice segue into these madeleines.

Mocha Madeleines (1 of 1)-4

I know, I know, you already have enough baking pans… I do too, but the pan is not expensive and these are soooo worth it.  Pop some in the oven and sit back and watch your favorite British TV show, or Canadian, or American.

Mocha Madeleines (1 of 1)-6

Mocha Madeleines

[Adapted from http://frenchfood.about.com/od/cookies/r/chocmadeleine.htm]

½ Cup of Un-Salted Butter, Melted and Cooled

2 Tablespoons of Ground Espresso

2/3 Cup of Sugar

4 Ounces of Dark Chocolate (bitter or semi sweet work great)

1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

3 Eggs

1 Cup of Flour

½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder

½ Cup of Powdered Sugar

In a large bowl, pour melted butter and add ground espresso.  Mix it around and let it sit for 5 minutes. The idea is to get as much of the espresso as possible to dissolve.

After 5 minutes is up, pour the sugar in to the bowl and mix, with a beater, on high until well blended, about 2-3 minutes.

In a microwave safe bowl or a double broiler, melt chocolate.  Allow to cool slightly.  Add to the butter /sugar mixture, along with the vanilla. Beat until well blended.

Beat eggs into the mixture one at a time.

In a separate small bowl, mix flour and baking powder.  Fold into the larger bowl until combined.

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray madeleine pans with non-stick cooking spray.

Spoon about 1 and ½ tablespoons of batter into prepared madeleine pans.

Bake for 12 minutes.  Place on a cooling rack for 5 minutes.  Then carefully flip the madeleines out onto the cooling rack.  When completely cooled, sprinkle with powdered sugar.  I used a fine metal strainer.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. These are beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Hehe I can’t stand coronation street! I grew up with it! Big doctor who fan though! :) These are lovely!

    Reply
  3. I had to chuckle, because my mom has been trying to get me to watch those shows forever!!
    …And…yum…yummy…YUM!! The madeleines look fabulous. I was just on the Williams Sonoma website yesterday, and there were these really cute little pans with Christmas shapes, and I had this fleeting urge to “impulse buy” but I backed away, because I really didn’t know what I’d use the pan for. I’m wondering if this recipe would work in those pans… I can’t see why they wouldn’t! Maybe I need to revisit Williams Sonoma. Eh..who am I kidding? I’m on that website daily… <3 Lovely post..

    Reply
  4. These look delicious! So pretty, too :)

    Reply
  5. Love Downton Abbey as well. I am addicted now. They need to have more episodes though. Right? Very cool recipe, although I would have expected scones. ;)
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

