Banana Snack Cake

I am a huge dog lover.  I mean, how can you refuse a big sloppy kiss from a furry buddy so happy to see you.

BananaCake1 (1 of 1)

Even though they can push us to the brink of madness when they are puppies.  Like when they can’t tell the difference between they’re ratty toy and your favorite pair of shoes (or can they…)

BananaCake5 (1 of 1)

As they get older they become more than cute fluffy faced annoyances.   They are part of our families.  I don’t know another set of beings on earth that will wait oh so patiently for you at the window for your car to pull up from work, and then to greet you at the door as if you have been gone forever.

BananaCake6 (1 of 1)

In their eyes you are perfect. I don’t usually do this, but check out this video, it truly speaks to how our furry friends see us. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyUec-lv_jI

BananaCake7 (1 of 1)

I’m bringing up this topic, because I lost my first dog Earnie, (his name really was EARnie) last year around this time.  He was only 8 years old and was taken too soon.  Maybe one day I’ll tell you about him, but for now, I’ll just say he was my very best friend, and I miss him every single day.  Even now I find myself tearing up.  I miss you my dear friend, you made my life better, by just being in it.

BananaCake8 (1 of 1)

Ok, so because you were so awesome and let me go on on on on, here is some yummy banana snack cake. It even has chocolate chips in it.  Trust me, it was awesome! Now go make some and then give your dog a hug.

Earnie April 2009

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake

[Adapted from http://www.momswhothink.com/cake-recipes/banana-cake-recipe.html%5D

½ Cup of Butter (Room Temperature)
1 ½ Cup of Sugar
2 Eggs
2 Cups of Flour
½ Teaspoon of Salt
¼ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
½ Cup of Milk
¼ Teaspoon of Vanilla
¾ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
3 Very Ripe Bananas
1 Cup of Mini Chocolate Chips

Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9 x 13 rectangular cake pan with cooking spray, or you can use butter.

In a larger bowl, cream together butter and sugar until combined.  Beat eggs , add to the butter mixture.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt and baking powder.

Add milk and flour into the butter mixture, alternating between the two.  Start with the flour and end with the flour.

In a small bowl, mash bananas.  Stir vanilla and baking soda in to bananas.

Fold bananas and mini chocolate chips into the cake batter.  Spread batter into the prepared cake pan.

Bake for 35 minutes, or until you a tooth pick comes clean when inserted.

When finished remove from oven and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss…. it’s so hard to lose our furry little family members. Ernie was beautiful.. We share the same sorrow…we lost our black lab Mollie when at 7 years old about two years ago. I truly believe she died of a broken heart because just 8 months before that, we lost our 13 year old yellow lab Sadie. As hard as we tried, we couldn’t bring Mollie out of her funk. Like you, the thought of her can bring tears to my eyes. Don’t get me wrong, I miss Sadie every day too…but my heart just broke for Mollie and the sadness that she couldn’t get over.

    We now have Sophie, a one year old black lab..and a beautifully crazy girl she is. While she has filled the void, and I’m madly in love with her….there will always be that little twang of sadness for Mollie and Sadie.

    I’m thinking of you…and I know just how you feel. <3

    On a happy note….let's talk Banana Cake!! Holy smokes…this looks delicious!! I am in love with mini chocolate chips… Years ago, they used to make mini milk chocolate chips..and all of a sudden, I couldn't find them anymore. It seems like forever that I've been on this mission to find them… but in the meantime…. this cake needs to be made in Prudy's kitchen, like really really soon….

    Have a lovely day!!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind words. We too have a new puppy in our lives, her name is Maggie and we love her to death. I begged to get her as I didn’t want out other dog lily to be sad anymore. I actually almost lost Maggie this weekend at the dog park and it brought back a rush of emotions of loosing Earnie. Sometimes I wonder if the heartache is worth it, until I get home and they greet me at the door , like I’m the greatest person on earth.

      Reply
  2. I’m so sorry about Earnie. I don’t have a dog, but my family does and I can’t even imagine what it will be like when she passes. They really become a part of the family. Thanks for sharing your story, and this wonderful snack cake

    Reply
  3. I so agree with you – our dog is absolutely a part of our family. And she can ALWAYS cheer me up whenever I need it – just by one look at her sweet face. I love coming home since she’s always so happy to see me : )

    I’m so sorry about Earnie. The dog I grew up with passed away when she was 9 and I felt like that was way too soon too. Heartbreaking : (

    But this snack cake looks delicious! To end on a happy note!

    Reply
  4. Love this yummy and easy cake! My brown bananas are begging to be turned into this!

    Reply
  5. This cake looks gorgeous, and my heart goes out to Earnie. He looks like such a beautiful soul.

    Reply
  6. Earnie looked like such a sweet sensitive pup – you were lucky to have him :)

    As for the recipes – This cake sounds sooo delicious!! The perfect cozy breakfast treat to serve during the holidays for sure.

    Reply
  7. Linda Palisek

     /  November 23, 2013

    What a beautiful picture of Earnie! He was so lucky to have you in his life as you gave him such love and care for all of the 8 short years you shared. Never doubt the richness they add to our lives – even on those days when you want to return them to whence they came!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

