Curried Butternut Squash Soup

seasonal challenge badge

I said I wouldn’t make soup for this challenge.

Curried Butternut squash Soup (1 of 1)

But then this soup happened.  I opened one of my cookbooks, written by an awesome lady and its all super healthy and yummy, I’m a little off track.  Back to this soup.

Curried Butternut squash Soup (1 of 1)-4

I didn’t mean to make this soup, but when I saw curry and butternut squash… come on… it was out of my control.

Curried Butternut squash Soup (1 of 1)-3

I love curry, it might even be one of my favorite dishes.  On top of that I had one more meal to make for this challenge.  And…. Mr PBandO was out for the afternoon, which is really the only time I can make anything curry.  He hates the smell, even worse than fish… so I don’t get a lot of opportunities to cook with curry.

Curried Butternut squash Soup (1 of 1)-5

So there you have it folks.  I was basically forced to make this soup.   But that’s ok, cause then I got to share it with you.  P.S. Can you see my reflection in the spoon… :)

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

[Adapted from Heart Smart Cookbook]

2 Teaspoons of Olive Oil
1 Medium Onion, Chopped
3-4 Cloves of Garlic, Chopped
2 Teaspoons of Curry Powder
1 Medium Butternut Squash
4 Cups of Chicken Broth, Low Sodium
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper

Pre-Heat Oven to 400 degrees.  Spray a cookie sheet with non-stick spray and set aside.

Peel the squash with a Y peeler, if you have one.  Cut the top and bottom off.  Cut the squash in half, and from here, cut into 1 inch pieces.

Spread the cut up squash, onions and garlic on the prepared cookie sheet.   Coat with the olive oil, and mix it around.  Make sure the squash is pretty spread out when you cook.  Place in the oven for 30 minutes, or until the squash is softened.

Remove squash from the oven.  Heat large skillet on medium heat.   Add squash, salt, pepper and curry.  Cook for 2 minutes.  Pour in the chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to low and let simmer for 15 minutes.

Pour into a blender, puree until smooth.

Now eat it!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. This looks and sounds yummy

    Reply
  2. I love soup so much! Yours looks so warm and comforting. I love the swirl you made on top!

    Reply
  3. I was just thinking about making soup tomorrow…and we picked up a butternut squash at the market today. Perfect timing. And did I mention how much my husband loves curry? What a godsend!

    Reply
  4. MMMMM GREAT POST:) I like your blog and Im now following.

    Check out my blog….Swedish decor and yummy recipies:)

    Have a wonderful week dear

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis – The Swedish home decor blog

    Reply
  1. 3/1 SEASONAL CHALLENGE NOVEMBER INGREDIENT + OCTOBER CHALLENGE ROUNDUP | Everyday Feasts

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

