Butternut Squash and Sage Pasta Sauce

seasonal challenge badge

Soo the other day I was out with a friend of mine, and she casually mentions that a friend of hers gave her a really good looking butternut squash, fresh from her garden.  She was “unsure” what to do with it.  “maybe I’ll roast it” she says.  I replied “ and then what”

ButterNut Squash Pasta Sauce (1 of 1)-4

You see to me, roasting a butternut squash it step one in a butternut squash recipe.  “and then eat it?” she replied.  “ that’s boring”. I , not so politely replied. Don’t worry she ‘s used to my surly rudeness..;)

ButterNut Squash Pasta Sauce (1 of 1)-5

The next morning, she left this good looking squash on my desk.  Isn’t it good lookin?

ButterNut Squash Pasta Sauce (1 of 1)-2

I took it home and transformed it into this awesome butternut squash and sage pasta sauce.  I of course tested it, and squirreled away some for myself, and gave the rest to her.

ButterNut Squash Pasta Sauce (1 of 1)-8

SO now I will patiently wait for her to make a comment here about how awesome I am and how yummy this sauce is…..;)    Still waiting…….

ButterNut Squash Pasta Sauce (1 of 1) (2)

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/341439/butternut-squash-pasta-sauce]

1 Good Looking Butternut Squash (Medium)
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
1-2 Tablespoon of Chopped Fresh Sage (or 2 Teaspoons of Dried)
1 Teaspoon Each of Salt and Pepper
2 Teaspoon of Minced Garlic
1 Cup of Cream (5%)
Pasta (Your Choice)

Pre-Heat your oven to 450 degrees.

Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.

Peel the skin off your butternut squash ( use a Y peeler if you have one, sooo much easier).  Cut off the top and bottom of the squash, cut in half.  Scoop out and discard the seeds.  Chop the squash halves into 1 inch pieces.

Toss the squash and olive oil along with the sage, garlic,  salt and pepper.  Spreed out onto the baking sheet. Try not to overlap pieces.

Roast in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes.  You should be able to pierce the squash easily.

Remove from the oven, and place in a blender along with 1 cup of cream (5%).  Add 1 cup of water.  Add more if it seems dry.

Now you can either freeze it for later, or put on top of your favorite pasta.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. This is so pretty… We were on the same wave length last night, because that’s exactly what I made to post!! Mine is a touch different… And definitely not as pretty! What are the rules of engagement? Should I not post mine tonight? I’m so new to this…

    Such a lovely recipe… <3

    Reply
  2. ooo this is a lovely recipe! I like squash but always get a bit stuck in the roasting rut that happens when you have loads of a certain vegetable! There so many pretty types around at the mo to try it with as well – Lovely idea :-)

    Reply
  3. Trina

     /  October 30, 2013

    The waiting is over….the verdict is in! You are AWESOME…..and so is this pasta sauce! Love it…..can’t wait to bring another ‘pretty item’ for you to cook for me! I really could get used to this!

    Reply
  4. I love making creamy pasta sauce out of squash. It’s so much tastier and healthier than actual cream!

    Reply
  5. I love that last photo—beautiful! I’d be grateful for a friend who would borrow a butternut squash from me and give it back reincarnated as this pasta sauce.

    Reply
  1. 3/1 SEASONAL CHALLENGE NOVEMBER INGREDIENT + OCTOBER CHALLENGE ROUNDUP | Everyday Feasts

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

