Apple Pie (Sky High)

I made PIE!

Apple pie (1 of 1)-7

Pie and I are friends.  We used to be….. lets say frenemies.  I loved to eat pie, I just could make one.  I get into the pie debacle with this quiche.

Apple pie (1 of 1)-4

I think I get my love of pie from my Dad.  So it’s only fitting that I make a pie on his birthday.

Apple pie (1 of 1)-2

My dad passed away last year, and he is pretty much the inspiration for this blog. Well at least the name.

Apple pie (1 of 1)-5

Apple pie was his favorite.  My grandmother used to make pie for him on special occasions.  It wasn’t the best pie (sorry grandma) . Don’t get me wrong, I would still eat it!.  But the crust was all soggy and the apples didn’t have much flavor.I remember one year, after my grandmother passed, my sister made a perfect apple pie.  The crust was flaky and buttery and the apples melted in your mouth.  Between mouthfuls my father uttered “its good, but the crust is to crispy”….REALLY dad!

Apple pie (1 of 1)-8

He was not afraid to tell you what he thought.  He often handed out all kinds of advice to random strangers, sometimes even to my friends.  He once told my friend not to get a sit down job when she was older, need I say more… he told another friend that if she lost weight, she would lose it all over, which was a good thing, what did that even mean?  He wasn’t trying to be mean, he just thought he was being helpful.

Apple pie (1 of 1)-9

There wasn’t a cashier at a grocery store, or receptionist at a doctors office, or a lady at a shoe store that he didn’t chat up, or became quick friends with.  I miss you daddy!So this pie is for you dad.  I’m pretty sure the crust is a little soggy

[Adapted from My Grandmother and http://www.marthastewart.com/344255/old-fashioned-apple-pie%5D

Pie Crust

2 ½ Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Sugar and Salt
1 Cup of Cold Butter, Cut Into Cubes
½ Cup of Cold Water (2 Tablespoon extra if needed)

Pie

6 Granny Smith Apples, and 6 Macintosh (I used 6 Mac’s for the sogginess , you can use 12 Granny’s)
¾ Cups of Sugar
2 Tablespoons of Flour
2 Teaspoons of Cinnamon
1 Teaspoon of Nutmeg
¼ Teaspoon of Cloves
2 Tablespoon of Lemon Zest
2 Tablespoons of Lemon Juice
1 Egg

 

Whisk , Flour, salt and sugar, in a large bowl.

Using a pastry blender, (or 2 knives) blend the butter , until it resembles crumbs.

Pour the cold water into the butter/flour.  Mix with your hands until it comes together.  Add the extra water if needed.

Transfer to a floured work surface, and form into 2 disks.  Wrap in plastic, and place in the fridge for at least an hour.

After an hour, remove the dough.  Roll out on a floured surface, just big enough for a 10 inch pie plate.  Place in the pie plate.  Roll out the top crust, and place on a parchment paper.  Cover both pastry with plastic, and let them both harden in the fridge.

Core, peel and chop all 12 apples, and place in a large bowl.  Mix flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves in a small bowl.  Pour over the apples, with the lemon juice and zest.  Mix well.

Pre-Heat oven to 375 degrees

Pile all the apples into the pie plate. (it will be quite a pile.).

Make vent holes into the top crust and place on top of the pile of apples. Crimp the edges.

Beat the egg, with a tablespoon of water and brush over the pie.

Bake for about an hour.

Allow to cool completely before cutting into it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Your pie looks amazing! I love how tall it is! What a great way to remember your dad

    Reply
  2. What a wonderful remembrance of your dad on his birthday. It sounds like he was a great guy… my father is the same way. One time told me that I have thighs the size of hams. Really? Lol..But honestly, I’d rather hear that my thighs are big from my father who loves me, rather than a stranger or a friend (who I would just punch in the gut)… :-)

    The pics of the pie are beautiful, and I bet it was delicious. I’m guessing there wasn’t a soggy thing about it. I hope your day is beautiful. :-)

    Reply
  3. awww what a lovely way to remember your dad. I think the best things to make are things you associate with memories, they always taste so much better! This pie looks delicious – lovely photos as well!

    Reply
  4. Now that is one gorgeous pie!

    Reply
  5. What a sweet way to remember your dad. I love how stuffed to the gills this pie is, too… yum!

    Reply
  6. What a good looking pie! And some lovely memories of your dad to go with it :)

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

