Chicken Hand Pies

I love fall… TV

Chicken Hand Pies (1 of 1)

I’ve been waiting way too long for all my shows to come back.

Chicken Hand Pies (1 of 1)-4

Don’t get me wrong I have enjoyed the long lazy days of summers, by the pool, relaxing with the family, backyard parties, camping.

Chicken Hand Pies (1 of 1)-6

But now its on to the good stuff… TV!

Chicken Hand Pies (1 of 1)-8Supernatural, Murdoch Mysteries, Grimm,  Warehouse 13, Lost Girl and oh I found a new show, Sleepy Hollow.  I never said my taste was any good. TV isn’t the only thing I love about fall.  I love the weather, especially for running, not to cold , not to hot.  And I need to be running, what with all this yummy comfort food coming back in style.

Chicken Hand Pies (1 of 1)-7

Like these oh so cute chicken hand pies, they’re small, which totally justifies eating a lot of them, like maybe 3?  Why am I so hungry!

http://www.marthastewart.com/344205/savory-chicken-pocket-pies and http://www.marthastewart.com/326897/basic-pastry-dough

1-2 Chicken Breasts
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
½ Cup of Chopped Onions
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper
2 Cloves of Garlic, Minced
2 Teaspoons of Herb de Province
2 Cups of Fresh Spinach
1 Egg, 1 Tablespoon of Water

Pastry

2 ½ Cups of Flour
½ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Cold Butter, cut up into cubes
3 Tablespoons of Cold Water

To prepare the pastry, whisk flour and salt into a large bowl.  Cut butter into the flour, using a pastry blender or 2 knives.

Pour water onto the bowl and mix, until it comes together ( I used my hands).  Shape into 2 disks, and place in the fridge.

Shredded Chicken

Bring a pot of water to a boil, add 1 tea bag and let soak for 2 minutes.  Remove the tea bag.  Place chicken into the pot and boil on low for 25 minutes, or until no loger pink.

Using 2 forks, shred the chicken, set a side.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil on medium heat.  Add Onions, and garlic, and cook until translucent.  Add chicken, add Herb de Province, cook for 5 minutes.

Toss in spinach, cook until wilted.

Pre-Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Take dough out of the fridge, on disk at a time.  Roll out dough on a floured surface to ¼ inch thick.  Cut dough into 5 -6 inch circles.  I used a soup bowl and a knife to cut the shape out.

Spoon 2 tablespoons of chicken onto the pastry circles.  Moisten the edges of half the circle. Fold into a half circle , and press the edges down with a fork. Cut a few slits in the top for air to get out

Whisk the egg and water together, and brush it over top of the chicken pie. This will make the top all brown.

Bake for 25 minutes, or until the tops are all brown and smelling awesome.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Gosh these look so fantastic! And I love that I can probably eat about 10 in one sitting. Good and bad for me.

    Reply
  2. Yum, these look delicious! I adore anything wrapped in pastry, particularly if it contains spinach (I think it’s an association with some brilliant spanakopita I ate a few years ago. I’ve been searching for an equivalent ever since!). I definitely want to try these. Funny to read about the Northern hemisphere heading towards fall when it’s gradually warming up to spring weather here. I am craving warm evenings, salads and cold Coronas with lemon. Glad that you’re enjoying your cooler nights and TV though! x

    Reply
  3. I was so excited for fall TV to come back too!! These hand pies look so tasty, and so cute! Handheld comfort food, gotta love that

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

