Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Birthdays!

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)

I just celebrated mine over the weekend.    With every passing birthday I do a self-check… am I old?  We all ask ourselves this question as the years roll by.  When I was 20 I thought OMG,  OMG, I’m no longer a teenager.  I was half excited and half scared.  Now I had to start growing up.   YUCK. (BTW I’m still “growing up”.

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-3

Although I survived my 20’s, I remember 29 being a rough year.  The anticipation of 30 was scary.  The year I turned 30 I had made it such a big deal in my 29th year, when it happened, it was nothing.

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-2

So far my 30’s have been the best.  I know who I am, whom I love and I have achieved quite a bit.  While I can always complain, my 30’s have been about reaping the benefits of all the self-discovery (and mistakes) of  my 20’s.

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-4

OK enough about all this self-reflections stuff, on to these cupcakes.

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-6

I didn’t make them, but I ate them like it was my job (as they say on the weight watchers commercial)

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-5

My beautiful and talented step –daughter made them for me.    All her, with no help… well I may have put them in the oven and taken them out… in her defense, our oven is on an angle and her arms are shorter than mine.  Besides, she has seen me burn myself enough times to be leery of the oven.

cookies and cream cupcakes (1 of 1)-7

These were sooooo good, I may have eaten  3… oOK4… 4 ½… I swear.  Don’t judge me ;)

[Adapted from http://www.howsweeteats.com/2010/02/cookies-and-cream-cupcakes/]

Cupcakes

½  Cup of Butter (at room temperature)
1 Cup of Sugar
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
1 ½ Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
½ Cup of Milk
10 Oreos

Frosting

1 Cup of Butter (at room temperature)
2 ½ Cups of Powdered Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
2 Tablespoons milk
10 Oreos

Cupcakes

Pre-Heat Oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 muffin tins with pretty liners.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar, set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk eggs with vanilla.  Pour into butter mixture, mix until blended. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk (ya I said whisk, thank you Joy) flour, salt and baking powder.

Pour ½ the flour into the large bowl with the butter mixture.  Now pour and mix ¼ of the milk. Repeat with the last of the flour and milk.

In a large Ziploc bag, smash the Oreos, until they resemble crumbs.  You want some bigger pieces for crunch factor.

Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin tins, using a large spoon, or an ice cream scoop.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes clean when inserted.

Allow the cupcakes to cool on a wire rack in the muffin tin, for 5 minutes.  Remove them from the muffin tin and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

Frosting

 

In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar.  Add vanilla and milk, mix until combined.

In another large Ziploc (or the one you used before) smash the Oreos.

Fold the Oreos into the frosting.

Frost as desired.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Happy belated birthday!! :)

    These look crazy good so tell your step-daughter she did a GREAT job! Hahah I’m a total sucker for Oreo anything so these are definitely making my mouth water!

    Reply
  2. I looove oreos. These look delicious! Happy Belated Birthday!

    Reply
  3. Happy belated birthday! Oreos in things totally make everything so much better. No better way to spend bonding time together than with baking! These look delicious, pinning immediately!

    Reply
  4. Happy Belated Birthday!! Love Oreo everything so these are absolutely winner for me! :)

    Reply
  5. I’m a sucker for anything cookies and cream despite the disagreement they have with my body. That said I would probably have at least 4 of these too!

    And happy belated birthday! I joined the 30 year old club this year too. I wasn’t as accepting of it as you seem to be but I’m better now. Any year I can enjoy is a good year!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

