Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding

Confession time again.

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding (1 of 1)

I like a lot of desserts, I never discriminate.  Heck I’ll even eat coconut, which was super gross, and right up there with beans and wieners… Hated both growing up.  But times have changed, and so have my taste buds.

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding (1 of 1)-2

I could never understand why anyone (Mom) would eat pralines and cream ice cream over chocolate or super kid (shout out to all Canadian 80s kids)  I am now one of those people.  If there is something different on the menu, I’m trying it.

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding (1 of 1)-3

One thing I have always loved and that has never changed over the years… confession time.. Rice pudding!!!

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding (1 of 1)-4

L O V E it!  I could live off this stuff, that and a big glass of tomato juice… ya I know, I ‘m disgusting … Join me , won’t you!

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding (1 of 1)-5

Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding

½ Cup of Short Grain Rice (the same kind you use for risotto)
¼ Brown Sugar
4 Cups of Milk
1 Vanilla Bean

In a medium sauce pan, heat milk.  When milk is heated , not boiling, add brown sugar, stir until its dissolved.   Pour in rice.  Turn heat to low and cover.  Cook for 50 minutes.  Stir every 10 minutes or so.

Its ready when almost all the milk is absorbed.

Serve it hot, or put in a bowl.   Place a piece of plastic directly on top of the rice, so it wont create a film.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. How strange and opportune; I’ve just been craving rice pudding recently. Maybe it’s the weather. Anyhow, this one looks fantastic and beautifully simple! Thank you and hopefully I’ll be giving this a go soon.

    Reply
  2. I’ve never actually had rice pudding! The idea of it has always seemed so weird to me. But vanilla & raisins are two of my favourite things, so perhaps I’ll have to give it a go :)

    holly ; the hobbit kitchen x

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

