Pan Seared Fig Stuffed French Toast Grilled Cheese and a 3/1 Challange

seasonal challenge badge

Welcome to the 3rd and final day of the 3/1 challenge. As I posted for the last 2 days, I was invited to join in with these 2 lovely ladies (http://honeyandfigskitchen.com/ and http://www.eatmytortes.com/) in a 3/1 challenge.  3 meals,1 seasonal ingredient.  This was a challenge for me… Figs were the ingredient.  Not the easiest thing to find in Canada.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-6

But, I rose to the challenge, and I searched high and low and far and wide… well maybe I’m being a tad dramatic.  It did take me awhile, but I found them, and I made 3 really yummy meals.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-4

This has to be my favorite of the 3.    Day one I made a really nice pizza, then I made some awesome honey roasted fogs over granola.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-2

Today I present , Pan seared fig stuffed french toast grilled cheese.  It was awesome.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)

It was totally worth almost getting kicked out of the grocery store for… Oh I didn’t really mention that in yesterday post , did I.    Well as I said, in yesterday, I finally found a decent batch of figs, but I made sure all the figs in my package were fresh, I proceeded to sort through all the packages, and at the end, I was approached my a produce employee, and ask what I was doing.  I simply informed him I was doing him a favor by sorting out the bad figs… then I walked away…. quickly

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-7

I’m sure he’s still standing there wondering why the crazy lady just messed up his fig display.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-9

Worth it… I can’t believe this sandwich exists.  I finished making it and photographing it and then I inhaled it,  ya, not sugar coating that… it wasn’t pretty, but oh so delicious.

Frech Toast Grilled Fig CHeese (1 of 1)-8

Bring on the next challenge!

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/__dairy_goodness/anyday_magic/french_toast_grilled_cheese.php]

This Makes one Yummy Sand-which, you can double the ingredients if you want to share.  I wouldn’t, keep it all for yourself.

Pan/Pot Seared Figs

1 Tablespoon of Butter
2 Tablespoon of Honey
1 Tablespoon of Brandy (optional)
2-3 Ripe Figs, cut in half

The French Toast Grilled Cheese

1 Egg
¼ Cup of Milk
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2 Slices of Raisin Bread
Bree Cheese , slices into 4-5 pieces

In a small pan, or pot, melt the butter over medium heat.  Add honey, brandy (if using), and figs.  Stirring frequently for about 10 minutes, pan sear the figs,  until slightly mushy (it’s a cooking term… I think).  Remove from the heat, and set aside.

In a pie plate or cake pan, whisk, eggs, milk and cinnamon.  Dip and soak the raisin bread for about 5 minutes.

In a small frying pan, over medium heat,  coat with butter, or cooking spray.  Place the bread in the pan , and cook until brown, about 5 minutes.  Flip and cook the other side.  Remove from heat. Right away place the Bree cheese and a couple of the pan seared figs on one half of the French toast, and place the other piece on top, Making a sandwich.

Cut in half and pour the remaining figs over top.  Drizzle with honey, and stuff your face!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. So happy to know you were able to find some figs in the end! This grilled cheese looks amazing, it is truly a wonerful idea that I need to try! Thanks for joining us, dear! x

    Reply
  2. ooo I think you just sorted my Sunday brunch! excited!

    Reply
  3. OH MY GOSH!! This looks so unbelievably delicious, my stomach is actually growling whilst I stare at that melted cheese. Yum. Trying this as soon as possible, hopefully this weekend! xx

    Reply
  4. Whoa this is one grilled cheese sandwich! Looks delicious!

    Reply
  5. What a fun challenge! You came up with such amazing recipes. This sandwich looks unreal!! Too funny about the grocery store. But it is frustrating to get home and have some of the fruit be rotten!!

    Reply
  6. Yum. I am brunch obsessed and also am a huuuge brie lover- great idea to combine it with figs makes a great change from cranberries all the time :)

    Reply
  7. Shahsi @ http://runninsrilankan.com

     /  September 24, 2013

    Oh my! Figs figs everywhere! I think I really need some of this french toast this morn!

    Reply
  8. Looks really good! Perhaps after my HealthyWage challenge, I’ll be able to eat cheese again (:

    Do you have a twitter handle?

    Reply
  9. Wow. Freaking wow. This sounds like an amazing sandwich. The figs, the brie.. holy crap my mouth is watering! Next time I come across figs I’m giving this a shot!

    Reply
  10. This looks totally incredible, like a gourmet monte cristo! I just started a “treat yo self” (if you’re as big as guilty pleasure Parks & Recreation fan as I, you’ll understand the inspiration!) linky party where we link indulgent recipes, and I would LOVE for you to submit this.

    There’s a submit your link button at the post: http://thestylistquo.com/treat-yo-self-linky-party/

    Thank you!

    Cheryl

    http://thestylistquo.com

    Reply
  1. 3/1 seasonal challenge october ingredient + september challenge roundup | Everyday Feasts

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

