Honey Roasted Figs with Homemade Granola over Greek Yogurt and 3/1 Challange

seasonal challenge badge

Day 2 of the 3/1 challenge, everyone…  I have never blogged 2 days in a row…it’s weird.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-3

As I posted yesterday, I was invited to participate in a 3/1 challenge, that’s 3 meals (breakfast , lunch and dinner) with a seasonal ingredient.   Figs are on the table.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)

Figs, as I mentioned in my previous post, this has been a challenge for this little Canadian girl.  I hunted down my first batch, only for them to be squished, found a second batch,,,, barley , and was able to salvage 2 out of 8.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-2

So all last week, I went from grocery store to fruit market, back tp grocery stores… and the 6th grocery store had, not 1 but 2 kinds of figs… sweet.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-4

This time I was not taking the package at face value, so I proceed to open evey pack of 8 figs and poke them… ya I said poke them… to see if they were fresh.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-5

So you need to picture me standing in the produce isle, with about 10 packs of figs open, and me mixing and matching the ones I wanted.  It took me about 10 minutes.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-6

So I left the grocery store happy as a …. Let’s say fig. and I made us this for breakfast.    I was really impressed by the homemade granola, I was eating it right off the pan… and the flavor of the granola with the honey roasted figs, I think I may have found my new breakfast.

Homade Granola with Honey Roasted Figs over Greek Yogurt (1 of 1)-7

[Adapted from http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/granola-honey-yogurt-figs-50400000115199/]

For the Granola

1 Cup of Quick Oats
¼  Cup of Pecans, Chopped
1 Egg White
1/2 Teaspoon of Vanilla
2 Tablespoons Packed Brown Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
Pinch of Nutmeg
2 Tablespoons of Maple Syrup

For the Honey Roasted Figs

½ Teaspoon of Vanilla
3 Tablespoons of Honey, Divided
8 Ripe Figs, Cut in quarters
1 Cup of Greek Yogurt (or as much as you want)

Pre-Heat Oven to 300 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix oats with chopped pecans. In a smaller bowl whisk egg white, maple syrup with vanilla, Pour over oats and pecans. Mix with a fork

In another small bowl, mix brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add that to the oat mixture with a fork.

Spread on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake for 20 -25 minutes.

Mean while, In a small bowl mix, honey, vanilla and figs.  Pour on to a sprayed baking sheet, and set aside.

Remove the granola from the oven.   Try and leave some for the recipe, I had a hard time not eating it all.

Increase the oven temperature to 350 degrees.  Bake the figs for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven.

To assemble, place as much of the greek yogurt into a bowl, add ¼ to ½ cup of granola, and spoon the honey roasted figs over top.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Those honey roasted figs sound amazing – and I love the combination of the honey, granola and figs! What an awesome snack or breakfast!

    Reply
  2. This looks so delicious. Love those sweet, earthy flavors!

    Reply
  1. 3/1 SEASONAL CHALLENGE OCTOBER INGREDIENT + SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE ROUNDUP | Everyday Feasts

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

