Fig Pizza with Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese and a 3/1 Challange

seasonal challenge badge

Hello Everyone.  Guess what!  I was invited to participate in the 3/1 challenge.   I’m so excited to be a part of this.   I was invited to participate in this challenge by this lovely lady,  Stephanie from http://www.eatmytortes.com/.  She started the challenge with Consuelo over at http://honeyandfigskitchen.blogspot.ca/.   2 really great site.  Check them out!

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-2

So the challenge is to make 3 meals, a breakfast, a lunch and a dinner, with a seasonal ingredient.

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-3

This month the ladies choose figs.  Ummm I live in Canada…  Figs are not in season up here.  So that meant this was really going to be a challenge.

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-5

So the hunt was on.  I was lucky enough to find my first batch of figs at my local grocery store… but…. by the time I got them home they had been squished by my other groceries.  So I went back… no more figs.

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-7

So Mr. PBand O, being my hero and all, drove me around, and I was able to find a second batch.  This batch of figs had 8 in the pack and I salvaged …..3

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-8

So I sliced them up and put them on a pizza for Dinner!  Totally worth the fuss, I wish we had lots and lots of fresh figs here.

Fig Pizza (1 of 1)-9

More to come over the next 2 days, but in the mean time, make this for dinner, its yummy!

Fig Pizza With Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/317026/fig-pizzas]

Pizza Dough

¾ Cups of Hot Water
2 Teaspoons of Honey
1 Package of Active Dry Yeast
2 Teaspoons of Olive Oil
2 Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Salt
2 Teaspoons of Cornmeal

For the Toppings

4 Slices of Bacon
1 Large Onion, sliced thinly
2 Teaspoons of Sugar
At Least 3 Ripe Figs
½ Cup of Goat Cheese

 

Mix the honey into the hot water, until blended.  Sprinkle the yeast over top the water.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  You will notice it gets all foamy on top.

In a large bowl, mix flour and salt. When the yeast mixture is foamy, add the olive oil and stir.  Pour the yeast mixture over the flour and blend with a spoon until it comes together.

On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough for a couple of minutes.  Place the dough in a separate bowl that has been greased with olive oil or cooking spray.  Cover and let stand for 30-45 minutes, or until double in size.

Meanwhile, in a medium pan on medium heat, cook the bacon, and set aside.  In the same pan, toss the onions in, sprinkle sugar over top. Stir frequently until the onions are brown, but not burnt. Set aside.

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees

Roll out the dough on a floured surface, shape to fit your pan.  Spray your pan with olive oil or cooking spray , and sprinkle cornmeal if desired.  Poke the dough with a fork.

Spread the onions, bacon, figs and then crumble goat cheese on top.

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes,  or until the bottom is brown.

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’m craving pizza these last couple of weeks and this is not helping. Looks delicious! I don’t know if I’ll be able to find pizza this good but I’ll try. : )

    Reply
  1. ButterNut Squash and Sage Waffles and a 3/1 Challange | PeanutButter and Onion
  2. 3/1 SEASONAL CHALLENGE OCTOBER INGREDIENT + SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE ROUNDUP | Everyday Feasts
  3. Meyer Lemon Coffee Cake | PeanutButter and Onion

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

