Chicken Cheese Steaks

What did you do this weekend?

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)

I went on the Wiggle Waggle Walk-A-Thon!  Say that 5 times fast.

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)-2

I love dogs, and I realized a long time ago that I am way to emotional when it comes to helping out our furry friends.  I could never volunteer at a humane society.  I would be crying every time I dog was brought in hurt, or every time a dog got adopted, I would be asked to leave due to excessive crying.

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)-3

So I resort to other methods of helping out.  Like donating old dog blankets, beds, food and going on wiggle waggle walk-a-thons.  I just wanted an excuse to type that again.

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)-4

The walk went….. ok …… my dogs are … ok….. at walking.  Besides the fact that MR.PBandO strained his pectoral muscle…. Ya I said peck…. I wanted to type boob, but guys don’t have boobs… well some do.. but he doesn’t…. I digress.

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)-6

So I was on my own, he came with, but then had to abandon me at the starting line.  In the end I  my usual yappy, pulling  dogs, ended up being to overwhelmed by all the doggy company that they behaved quite well. I would totally do it again… I think, as long as no one pulls a boob, or a peck.

Chicken Cheese Steaks (1 of 1)-5

Oh you know what’s perfect after a 5 km walk with thousand dogs…. Supper yummy easy, gooey , cheesy sandwiches, perfect post wiggle waggle walk-a-thon…. had to fit it in one last time

 Chicken Cheese Steaks

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/315858/chicken-cheesesteaks-with-peppers%5D

2 Cups of cooked Shredded Chicken

1 Large Onion, Cut into strips

1 Red Pepper (or Green, Yellow or Orange), Cut into strips

2 Cloves of Garlic

4 Hoggie Buns

4 Slices of Provolone Cheese

Mayonnaise (optional)

Butter

To prepare shredded chicken, I usually buy 2 bone-in chicken breasts and boil them in a medium pot of tea, for about 20-25 minutes. Then remove it from the tea, and shred it with two forks.

Heat the olive oil in a medium pan, add onions, garlic and peppers.  Cook until the onions are translucent. Toss in 2 cups of cook shredded chicken into the pan, and heat through.

Heat oven to 450 degrees.

Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.   Divide the chicken mixture into 4 piles. Place 1 slice of provolone on each pile.   Place the cookie sheet in the oven for about 10 minutes, or until the cheese is melted

To assemble the sandwiches, Cut the hoggie buns down the middle, trying not to cut all the way through.  Using a spatula, place each pile of chicken onto a hoggie bun.

Now you have a choice, you can serve it like this, or you can fold each sandwich and roll it tightly in tin foil and bake for 10-15 minutes. Then serve.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. My husband is from Philly and just loves chicken cheese steaks. He hates that he can’t find a good one around NYC, so I’ll have to make him your recipe – they look great!

    Reply
  2. I love the sound of the wiggle waggle walk! I would love to do something like that … except our dog doesn’t really like to hang out with other dogs haha And these cheese steaks sound great!

    Reply
  3. What a fun idea! I picked up my last dog from the pound. Seeing her in there just broke my heart. I had to take her home. And these cheese steaks look so very good. Making them for dinner ASAP!

    Reply
  4. Such a cute story! And these cheese steaks look incredible!!!

    Reply
  5. As a “Philly Cheese Steak Lover” I will be converting to a “Chicken Cheese Steak Lover” :)

    Reply
  6. looks fantastic!! I’d like this for dinner tonight

    Reply
  7. mmm these look great! How do you think a chipotle type chilli chicken would work here? might have to be put on our menu next week!

    Reply
  8. I looooooove dogs, and would take home one a day if I had the space. But right now I don’t have any and I miss them every day. I will go and make a chicken cheese sandwich and comfort myself! It looks ridiculously good, and I haven’t had lunch yet!

    Reply
  9. This is very well timed! My husband just said to me last week “you know…I really love philly cheese steaks…” Ha! How’s that for a hint!? Must try your version with chicken!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

