Apricot Sorbet

Well its official, summer is over! All the kids are back to school, the days are getting shorter, and the weather is slightly cooler.

apricot Sorbet (1 of 1)

It’s funny, even though summer isn’t officially over until September 21st (I think), you still feel like it’s over after Labour day weekend.  I think it’s years of conditioning that the start of the school year triggers in all of us.

apricot Sorbet (1 of 1)-6

I am sad to see it go, and for the first time ever, I’m really not looking forward to snow.  I know, I know, I’m jumping ahead of myself, I mean my pool is still open.

apricot Sorbet (1 of 1)-7

So in a last stitch effort to hang on to summer, I made this for us.

apricot Sorbet (1 of 1)-9

Can I confess something to you… before this recipe, I had never actually bitten into, or tasted an apricot.  No really, and I almost forgot to while I was making this.  Just before I threw all of the apricots into the water, I remembered and put one in my mouth.  Not bad, but I prefer it in this sorbet.

apricot Sorbet (1 of 1)-10

Happy end of summer!  Welcome my favorite time of year… Fall!.

P.S. did you happen to notice my little friend taking a peek at my apricots?

Apricot Sorbet

[Adapted from http://www.annies-eats.com/2009/06/25/apricot-sorbet/]

15 Ripe Apricots
1 Cup of Water
1 Cup of Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

Slice up the apricots. (cut in half, remove the pits and cut into slices).

Boil the water in a small sauce pan, turn down to a simmer and add the cut up apricots, and let cook for about 10-15 minutes.

Take off the heat and add sugar.  Pour mixture into a small bowl and place plastic wrap on top, and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to an hour (or until cool) .  *** note:  Make sure the plastic wrap is touching the mixture to prevent a film from forming on top.

Once cooled, stir in vanilla, and puree.

Pour into your ice cream maker, and continue on with the manufacture instructions.

Once finished in the ice cream maker, pour into a freezer safe container and freeze for 4 hours minimum.

I found it easier to scoop out if you let it sit on the counter for 10 minutes first.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I love the summery, fresh flavor of this fruity sorbet, Tracey! It looks so tasty and perfect for cooling down during this hot TX summer.

    Reply
  2. This sorbet looks so refreshing! A great way to end summer. I love the picture with your dog peeking out :)

    Reply
  3. It’s still pretty warm here – so this sorbet sounds delicious and refreshing! You know, I don’t think I’ve ever had a fresh apricot. Dried, sure. But not fresh!

    Reply
  4. I need more apricots in my life and this recipe is so freaking awesome looking! Love!

    Reply
  5. Ooooh I love apricots and, call me crazy, but with apricots the more sour the better!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

