Steak and Peppers Over Rice

I am living the single lady life this week!  Wait.. should I be telling all my imaginary internet friends that?  I mean I am living the single lady life  (with 2 huge guard dogs) this week.  Much better.

Steak and Peppers (1 of 1)

I don’t know why , but I seem to get a lot done when I’m all alone.  Its not like Mr.PBandO its hovering around me, preventing me from doing stuff.  Maybe its because I miss him, and I’m just trying to keep busy…. Awww…… ok that’s enough mushy stuff.

Steak and Peppers (1 of 1)-2

The other thing that happens when I’m on my own…. I can cook, bake, grill, fry anything I want.

Steak and Peppers (1 of 1)-3

I can cook up some curry, fry up some fish, I can even throw together some liver and onions. … well maybe not…

Steak and Peppers (1 of 1)-5

Mr. PBandO left last Wednesday, and in true, ‘I’m cooking just for me’ fashion, I made pumpkin curry, fish tacos, sweet potato gnocchi… you get the picture.

But tonight, I was craving something simple.  And then I remembered this recipe. It’s actually one of Mr. PBandO’s favorites… well he likes it… which is huge in this house…. he can be… how do I put this… particular.

Steak and Peppers (1 of 1)-6

This is super easy to throw together.  Definitely one of my go to meals. So if you’re in a pinch, this is your next meal.

1 lbs of Steak Strips
½ Teaspoon of Paprika and Garlic Salt
.1/4 Teaspoon of Salt, and Pepper
1 Tablespoon of Flour
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
11/4 Cups of Low Sodium Beef Broth
2 Tablespoon of BBQ Sauce
2 Teaspoon of Brown Sugar
½ Teaspoon of Ground Thyme
2 Peppers (Green, Red , Orange or Yellow), Thinly Sliced
1 Medium Onion, Thinly Sliced
Your favorite Rice

Place Steak into a ziploc bag, and add paprika, garlic salt, salt , pepper and flour.  Shake, until the steak is coated.

On medium heat, add the olive oil in large skillet, then add the coated beef and cook until the outside is browned, and no longer pink.  Add the peppers and onions, cook for 3-4 minutes, or until the onions are translucent.

In a medium bowl, mix low sodium beef broth, BBQ sauce, brown sugar, and thyme, until combined.  Add to the skillet.  Cover and cook for 30 minutes. Uncover and cook for 5-10 minutes if the sauce seems watery.  Cook the Rice in the mean time

Serve over Rice

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. There’s nothing better than cooking all the things they hate that you love when your home alone! This looks great! I’ll bring the wine, you cook the food :-)

    Reply
  2. This looks amazing!!!!!!! I can almost taste what this must be like! YUM!

    Reply
  3. Ooh this looks so tasty! Can’t wait to try it – I’m always looking for simple recipes that make me look like I know what I’m doing in the kitchen (because most of the time, I don’t!) Thanks for posting!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

