Chocolate Zucchini Banana Bread Muffins

The end of another fabulous stay-cation.

choc muffins (1 of 1)-4

My sister came to visit, and we did so much stuff.  The city you live in is a hidden gem!  Trust me, I found mine.

choc muffins (1 of 1)-2

We went to a haunted walk, mini golf, go a pedicure/manicure, shopping (40% off my favorite store …Roots), took the dogs to the dog park and had our first, hopefully not our last, neighborhood pool party; we even went for high tea.

choc muffins (1 of 1)

I had so many plans for new recipes to try out on my sister…. She is not picky at all, but we were so busy, all I managed to whip up was these!

choc muffins (1 of 1)-3

They were a huge hit!  Seriously I don’t have any left… maybe a few that I hid in the freezer.

choc muffins (1 of 1)-6

We also had an incredible s’more cheese cake, which my wonderful step –daughter made for us.  Seriously.. the best cheesecake ever!

choc muffins (1 of 1)-5

So if you don’t have your own fabulous step-daughter to whip up this awesome cheesecake, make these muffins, there not bad!

[Adapted from http://forkvsspoon.com/archives/2490]

Chocolate Zucchini Banana Bread Muffins

½ Cup of Cocoa
1 ½ Cup of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
½ Cup of Vegetable Oil
½ Cup of Sugar
½ Cup of Brown Sugar
2 Eggs, Beaten Slightly
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
2 Cups of Shredded Zucchini (About 4 Large) *I used 8 small white zucchini
2 Ripe Bananas
½ Cup of Mini Chocolate Chips

Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 18 muffin tins.

Shred zucchini and pat dry with paper towel; I put mine in a strainer and left a paper towel on top. Smash the bananas in a small bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl, stir together cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

In another large bowl, mix together until combined, white sugar, brown sugar, vegetable oil, 2 eggs slightly beaten, and vanilla.

Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix until well combined. Fold in zucchini and bananas.  Finely mix in chocolate chips.

Using a large spoon, divide the batter between the 18 muffin tins.

Place in the oven for 25 – 30 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes clean when inserted in the middle.

Cool on a wire rack.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. These look so good!! And I can pretend they are healthy because there is zucchini and banana in there!!

    Reply
  2. Sounds good! They look healthy, why not!

    I wish I could find the hidden gems in my town. Sounds awesome that you had so much of a good time. And the cheesecake sounds amazing!

    Reply
  3. These look great – I imagine the Zucchini cancels out the calories!

    Reply
  4. These look so good – love the chocolate zucchini combination!

    Reply
  1. Zucchini Season | um-ums defined

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

