Roasted Cherry Tomatos and Ricotta Cheese on Crusty Bread

What did you do this weekend?  I started my stay-cation number 2.

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-2

You may remember a month or so ago that I announced I was taking a stay-cation for the first time … and I really enjoyed it.  I have like a billion weeks of vacation built up and I thought, it worked out so well the first time, why not do it again.

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-3

So far I have made chocolate spongy muffins,  zucchini banana chocolate chip muffins ,creamy French zucchini soup, meatballs, shredded chicken and rubbed up some ribs, which is marinating in the fridge as we speak for tomorrow night’s dinner. While I did this, My dogs did this.

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-9

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-10

Time for my new favorite snack!

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-4

I eat this for a snack , I eat it after yoga,  I eat this for lunch, eat this any time.

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-5

I was a ricotta hater before this, choosing to avoid the bland tasting cheese at all cost.  In my lasagna, no way,  put it on crusty bread with roasted tomatoes..  um ok!

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-6

I have not looked back.  I love the combination of the hot roasted tomato smooshed into the ricotta cheese, spread over a hot toasted crusty bread… I’m actually taking pause in the middle  of writing this post and getting me some of this.

roasted tomato1 (1 of 1)-8

So if you’re hungry, please, join me.  It’s so yummy, then take a nap.

Roasted Cherry Tomato on Crusty Bread with Ricotta

[Adapted From http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/gardening/grilled-cherry-tomato-skewers/]

Cherry Tomatoes (3 per slice of bread)
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper
Light Ricotta cheese
Crusty Bread

Turn your oven on broil.

Put as many tomatoes  as you want in a bowl and drizzle olive oil over top (just enough to coat) and season with salt and pepper.

Place tomatoes on a baking sheet and roast in the oven for 5-10 mins.  Check then constantly so they don’t burn.

Brush some olive oil on the crusty bread and place in the oven for a few mins, just until toasty.

Remove tomatoes, when you hear them popping and the skin is splitting.

Spread the ricotta cheese on the crusty bread and place the tomatoes on top (3 per slice), then smoosh them into the bread.  Watch out, the juice will squirt out and its hot !!!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Looks and sounds perfect…I love your dogs too

    Reply
  2. This looks so pretty! i have SO many cherry tomatoes, and may even be tiring of their fresh sweetness — time to roast I think. Thanks for the inspiration, and three cheers to multiple staycations!

    Reply
  3. What a super simple snack! I’m a massive ricotta fan :)

    Reply
  4. Wow, these sound absolutely fantastic! I love simple things like this, I feel like I can stuff them in my mouth all day long. I’m a fan of ricotta but a bigger fan of feta and goat. I’m still totally getting down with this.

    And awesome job on saving up on so much vacation time. Sounds so nice. I recommend staycations 8 times out of 10. Again, my laziness… Haha

    Reply
  5. Ooh that sounds sooo good– i’m a huge fan of ricotta on toast with just about any topping!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

