Very Berry Frozen Yogurt

I’m handing out advice! Museum advice!

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)-5

When was the last time you went to a museum?  Was it recently?  Or are you one of those people has to reach back into their memory bank to a high school trip, or maybe even grade school trip?

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)

I’ve been trying to get out there and visit some local museums.  Monday was a holiday Monday here in Canada, so I took the opportunity to venture downtown, to snap a couple of pictures and visit one of the many museums Ottawa has to offer.  I thoroughly enjoyed it, as well was super annoyed by it.  Hence the advice part.

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)-2

My first piece of advice is, go really early, like right when it opens, or really late, about 2 hours before close.  This is to avoid the crowds of creaming prepubescent, little people, who frequent the museums, with day camps and schools.  I’m not talking about the kids that attend with their parents; they seem to have a handle on their little people.  It’s the camp counselors and school volunteers that are pathetically try to control these droves of children and doing a really horrible job at it.

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)-3

Don’t get me wrong, they don’t have an easy job of it.  I am not delusional in thinking I could do better.  I’m just saying if you want a nice peaceful, enjoyable time… avoid the mid-day school/camp rush.

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)-4

My second piece of advice is, go alone!  I have never gone to a museum alone, and I have always felt rushed or board.  This time was amazing, I could stare at something as long as I wanted or I could skip whatever I wanted, and I had no one to judge me.  I could have ran through and looked at nothing, or I could have spent 3 hours looking every inch of the museum over.  I actually did the latter.

very berry frozen yogurt (1 of 1)-6

Still trying to think of a good way to segway into this recipe… I don’t have one… sooo here is some yummy very berry frozen yogurt.  After all, it is still summer!!

Very Berry Frozen Yogurt

[Adapted from the cuisinart ice cream maker manual]

1 Bag of Frozen Mixed Berries, Thawed (about 500g)
¾ Cup of Milk
1/3 Cup of Sugar
4 Cups of Low Fat Vanilla Yogurt
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

Puree the thawed berries and strain them to get rid of any seeds.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix the milk and sugar with a hand blender for about 2 minutes.  Stir in the yogurt, berry puree and the vanilla, until combined.

Pour into your ice cream maker and follow the manufatue’s  instructions.

Once it’s all done in the ice cream maker, put it into the freezer, for about 4-8 hours, or until you think it’s hard enough.  Now go to the museaum and by the time you get home, I’ll be all ready to eat.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Agreed about going alone and early or late. Yummy recipe, looks delish too!!

    Reply
  2. This looks so beautifully vibrant… packed full of berries! It’s uh… been years since I’ve been to a museum. Terrible really, as I do appreciate museums hugely! I’ve been to a gallery though… our state gallery does an exhibition of year 12 TEE (final year exam) art every year. It’s pretty amazing, so make sure I’m there in support of our up and coming artists. Anyway, back to the gorgeous frozen yoghurt… I’m definitely going to try this! x

    Reply
  3. So simply, soooo delicious! Just what I needed :)

    Reply
  4. Ooo this looks fab! I haven’t been to a museum since I was a kid! ‘i really need to

    Reply
  5. I totally agree with you on your views about museum visits!!!!! It is rather annoying when you are not allowed to take your own time!!!!! And this frozen yogurt? OMG! Talk about guilt free indulgence! LOVE IT!

    Reply
  6. Mmm loving this flavour! Yum!

    Reply
  7. You know I have been to several museums lately but that is only because I was in Italy – so there were many, amazing museums to choose from.

    The froyo looks delish! Have a great weekend!
    xo Jackie

    Reply
  8. I have been to a museum alone once! It feels great because you don’t have to worry about a friend or friends getting bored. From where I am, there is only one museum at least that I know so whenever I hear about an exhibit in the mall and if I have time, I’d go. It’s also surprising how those exhibits aren’t bombarded with a lot of people even when in the mall.

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

