Asparagus Pizza

Apparently I’m on an honesty kick.  Last week I confessed that I was healthy, this week I’m going to admit something that will probably get me black listed in the food blog community.

Asparagus Pizza

I DO NOT LIKE QUINOA!!!  Actually I hate it, but my dad always said “ we don’t hate things, we dislike them”  Sorry dad, but I really, really, really HATE it.

Asparagus Pizza-2

Please don’t hate me… I just can’t stand the stuff. I just don’t see what all the fuss is about. It has no flavor, and the texture… blahhhh.

Asparagus Pizza

If someone out there has a perfect quinoa recipe,  and you think you can convert me,  please send it my way, I will try it.  I really do want to jump on the bandwagon.  I want to be like all the cool healthy kids.

Asparagus Pizza-4

In the meantime, I will just have to stick to something I know I love.

Asparagus Pizza - 5

PIZZA… I looove pizza, you can put whatever you want on it…   and the texture and flavours are awesome.

Asparagus Pizza -6

Maybe I should put quinoa on a pizza… Hmmmmm… and the hamster is off and running.

Asparagus Pizza

[Adapted from http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2010/05/shaved-asparagus-pizza/]

6-10 Asparagus (depends how much you like it)
1 Cup of Fresh Mozzarella
2-3 Green Onions
½ Cup of Pizza Sauce
Your Favourite Pizza Dough

Pre-Heat Oven to 350 degree

Prepare your dough (weather that be thawing it, or making it from scratch).

Take the asparagus and shave it, set it aside.  How you ask…. You need to buy a Y peeler.  I tried it with a regular peeler, didn’t work.  Y peeler is good for peeling butternut squash too.

Chop up some green onions.  (save the ends, stick them in a glass of water and watch ‘em grow)

Grate your fresh mozzarella.

Assemble the pizza.  Spread the pizza sauce all over the dough. Sprinkle half of the cheese.  Add the shaved asparagus and green onions., sprinkle the remaining cheese.

Pop it in the oven for 15 20 minutes, or until the crust is brown on the bottom

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. What a cool idea and I bet the shaved asparagus would be awesome through some pasta! Love it..

    Reply
  2. This made me laugh so much! I have something to admit.. I’ve never tried quinoa! Love the look of this pizza!

    Reply
  3. Who needs quinoa when you have this gorgeous looking pizza!?! It’s too hard to spell anyway ;)

    Reply
  4. Looks delish!

    Reply
  5. This looks scrumptious! I love unique tasty pizzas!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

