Strawberry Jam

Sooooo I need to confess something… or rather admit something.  Apparently people who know me, will say they already know what I’m about to tell you… I guess I’m sort of admitting it to myself.

Jam (1 of 1)

I am a healthy and fit person!  There I said it!  I don’t know why I have been avoiding admitting that.  I guess when I finally let go of my one un-healthy vice last year… I had to admit it

Jam (1 of 1)-3

I guess I just don‘t want to come across as one of those … “look at me and my healthy lifestyle” people.  I do eat well, I Run 4 days a week, and do a 15 -20 min strength training before my run, and I have recently signed up for hot yin yoga.  If I read that in someone else’s bio, I would be all.. “show off”  or “snobby healthy person”

Jam (1 of 1)-4

But I guess there is nothing wrong with being healthy.  When I was younger, I was not healthy!!! I prided myself with eating fast food every day and being lazy, everyday!!

Jam (1 of 1)-5

Every healthy decision I have made as been due to an injury, or a health issue.

Jam (1 of 1)-7

I started eating better due to my IBS (irritable Bowel Syndrome).  I started strength training, due to my lower back issue, that was caused my fracturing my tail bone,  and I threw running in for some cardio to round out the workout… I quit smoking because my running was getting harder….I am starting Hot Yin Yoga, because I am having joint issues during my running.  So I guess you could say I’m only being healthy because I’m getting old and I don’t like the way it feels… bet that than doing nothing.

Jam (1 of 1)-8

Oh and since I so  selfishly just made you read a whole bunch of crap about how healthy I am  … see it does sound snobby… here is some jam… and it has lots of sugar…. Not healthy at all.  Unless you eat it in moderation… .. that’s if you want to be healthy.

Strawberry Jam

2 Quarts of Strawberries (about 8 cups)
½ Cup of Lemon Juice
1 Teaspoon of Butter
1 Package of Pectin
7 Cups of Sugar
12 ½ Pint Mason Jars With Lids (1 Cup)

Pre-heat oven to 250 degrees

Hull the strawberries.  What I mean is, cut the tops off and slice in half, and cut out the centre.  I know, It’s a lot of work.

Spread out the cut up strawberries onto a cookie sheet, and crush the strawberries with a potato smasher.

Arrange mason jars on a baking sheet, and heat in the oven for 10 minutes

Place the lids (not the rings) into a pot of boiling water.

Boil water in a very large pot (this is for the sealing of your jam jars)

In a large pot, on medium heat,  pour the crushed strawberries in.   Add the lemon juice,  ½ teaspoon of butter (reduces foam),  and pectin.  Stir until pectin is dissolved.

Turn heat to high, and boil strawberries to a rolling boil, for about a minute.

Add the sugar, and continue to boil for one more minute.

After the 10 minutes is up , take the jars out of the oven.

Pour jam into jars, leaving a ¼ inch at the top of the jar.  Place the lids that were boiling on top and screw on the rings as tight as you can.  **** use tongs to handle the lids, they were boiling to sanitize them.

Place the jars, as many as you can, into the large pot of boiling water, and boil for 10 minutes.  The water should cover the jars. Remove the pot from the heat and let the jars sit in the water for 5 more minutes.

Remove the jars and let cool.  Repeat with the remaining jars of jam.

As the jars cool, the seal should pop the lids top in (this kind of scared me)

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. This jam looks so very good!
    So glad to have stumbled on your blog today! Seeing you are a “health nut” (oops) I am gonna have to visit again :)

    Reply
  2. sounds scrumptious! Wow! Thanks so very much for sharing! I am def. gonna have to try this this weekend!

    Reply
  3. Gina

     /  July 23, 2013

    You Rock, Tracy! It’s not selfish to be healthy and look after yourself. I remember Oprah saying this and have not forgotten it…”If you do not look after yourself first, you cannot take care of others.” I try to remember that. :0)

    Reply
  4. Gina

     /  July 23, 2013

    P. S. Thanks for the recipe. :0)

    Reply
  5. Totally digging this jam! Homemade is the best!

    Reply
  6. Jam looks super! I am very jealous of your healthy lifestyle!

    Reply
  7. Living a healthy lifestyle is hard work – but it’s worth it when you feel so much better! And this jam sounds fantastic – I’ve never made jam at home before. I need to fix that!

    Reply
  8. You go girl! Way to be healthy! I need to get my workout motivation back up there and your mad work-out skills totally help. And yeah! I used to eat McDonalds as a snack. I still kinda want an apple pie (or two for a dollar) sometimes.

    This jam is the jam. There’s butter in it! Yes!

    Reply
  9. Good for you, Tracy – whatever the reason to get motivated, it pays off in the long run. I just recently discovered Yin Yoga and I love it!

    Reply
  10. Good for you! Being active and eating healthily is a good thing! It’s better to do something about it now knowing you have certain health issues than to wait until it hits you hard. The homemade jam looks delish –everything in moderation is what I believe in. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  11. so yummy:) and good luck on your healthy lifestyle;)

    Reply
  12. Ok, since it’s confession day, I’m a Spin, Body Pump, yoga, Pilates and a personal trainer! I also hesitate on sharing that on my blog site cuz, I don’t want to turn people away from all the unhealthy recipes I share! I sometimes feel like a hypocrite! But, I’M NOT and either are you! It’s just our life style that we live. And, it just happens to be filled with running and cupcakes! Those two, make me happy!

    This jam looks fab BTW! Run strong, girl!

    Reply
  13. I’m still looking for motivation everyday, good for you on getting healthy! This jam looks amazing. I tried to make jam and can it last year and it was awful. Looking forward to a better recipe to use this year!

    Reply
  14. Too bad you’re one of those fit people, I was going to compliment this post…

    Haha, awesome looking jam!! I wish I was more fit. My laziness knows no bounds. I really need to get into a healthier lifestyle though :/

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

