Bacon and Sage Butternut Squash Risotto

What a beautiful weekend!!  What a beautiful week.

ButterNut Squash Bacon and Sage Rissoto (1 of 1)-9

We had a stay-cation this past week, and normally I don’t do stay-cations.  My theory is if I wanted to be home for a week I’ll  go get sick.  Basically I just think I’ll be bored… like when I’m sick.   I am the worst sick person.   I get so bored that I end up baking, cooking, cleaning, or doing laundry.  Which just prolongs the whole “staying at home being board while I’m sick” thing.

ButterNut Squash Bacon and Sage Rissoto (1 of 1)-2

But this year we decided no trips.  We had a big year last year… Calgary stampede, Banff and a wonderful visit with my sister, installing our beautiful new pool, and then the trip to New York at New Years.  So we decided we would take it easy this year.

ButterNut Squash Bacon and Sage Rissoto (1 of 1)-7

So I reluctantly took some time off without any plans…. Well I’ll just say it… it was the best!!! I did so much stuff and yet nothing of real importance at all.  Plus it was super hot, so most of my nothing/something ended up being in the pool…. Sweet!

ButterNut Squash Bacon and Sage Rissoto (1 of 1)-4

It also gave me time to make this!  I’m always reluctant to make risotto, mainly because it takes a time and technically it’s an appetizer….but not this week… all the rules went out the window.  I think I actually had ice cream one morning.

ButterNut Squash Bacon and Sage Rissoto (1 of 1)-10

And it’s totally a dinner and not an appetizer…. Make this… even if it seems like a lot of work… or just take the day off and do nothing but make this.

Bacon and Sage Butternut Squash Risotto

[Adapted from http://www.loveandoliveoil.com/2013/02/butternut-squash-risotto-with-pine-nuts-balsamic-drizzle-and-fried-sage.html%5D

1 Small Butternut Squash
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
½ Teaspoon of Nutmeg
4-5 Strips of Bacon
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
3 Small Shallots
4 Chopped Fresh Sage Leaves
1 Teaspoon of Minced Garlic
1 Cup of Risotto (Short Grain Rice)
½ cup of White Wine
4 Cups of Chicken Broth
1 Tablespoon of Butter
1/3 Cup of Parmesan Cheese
Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Take a Y peeler (you can do it with a regular peeler, but I recommend you get a Y peeler), peel off all the skin on your butternut squash.  Cut the butternut squash into 1 inch cubes.  I just made that sound easy.. It’s not, unless your grocery store sells it pre-cut up…. Mine does and I love this!!!

Toss with nutmeg and olive oil.  Spread out on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 40 minutes.

While the butternut squash is baking, cook the bacon until crispy.   When cooled chop into tiny pieces.

Remove the butternut squash from the oven and puree it with a food processor or blender. Set aside.

In a medium sauce pan, heat the olive oil.  Cook the shallots, until they are translucent, about 3 minutes. Add the garlic and sage, and cook for 1 minuter.

Pour in the rice, and cook for 3 minutes, stir constantly or they will burn.

Pour in the ½ cup of wine.  Stir until liquid is absorbed, about 2-3 minutes.

This is hard part…. or rather the boring part….

Pour in the chicken broth a ½ cup at a time.  You have to wait for the liquid to absorb before you pour in the next ½ cup.  This took me about 22 minute.  You have to stir it frequently, or it will burn.

When all the liquid is absorbed, remove the pan from the heat.  Add the butter, squash and Parmesan cheese.  Sprinkle the bacon on top and serve.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I love butternut squash in risotto.. when i can be bothered to chop one up! This looks amazing!

    Reply
  2. Risotto and butternut squash is such a great combo – and the bacon just takes it over the top! Great post and photos!

    Reply
  3. I love butternut squash. In risotto, in soup, on its own:) and I like this risotto too, although being a veggie i skip the bacon part:)

    Reply
  4. This looks and sounds amazing. I love squash so I will have to give this a try.

    Reply
  5. I always felt the same way about stay-cations … until I actually did it. And I lovedddd it. Who knew you could actually feel refreshed after one? haha. This butternut squash risotto sounds fantastic!

    Reply
  6. This is one of my favorite fall dishes! Pocketing this for the cooler months to make again. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Last year for the first time, we also took a “stay-cation” and I have to admit it was pretty delightful.

    The risotto looks delicious!

    Reply
  8. “risotto” is a scary word for me – I’ve never really tried making it – this dish looks amazing by the way!
    And yours is the second post this week that blogged about risotto – think I need to get over my phobia!:)
    thanks for sharing this !

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

