Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

I made Ice Cream!!!

ICe Cream (1 of 1)

I know , I know, lots of people make ice cream.  But I can’t help it, its just so cool.. no pun intended.

ICe Cream (1 of 1)-3

I have been asking for an ice cream maker for about a month.  I have always been one of those people who hates to have to many kitchen appliances cluttering up her kitchen.  And if you store it away, it becomes one of those things you never use, because you never see it.

ICe Cream (1 of 1)-6

And that is what Mr. PBandO said.  Now I found myself defending this additional kitchen appliance that will either clutter up my kitchen of be put away and I wont use because I don’t see it.I did  the only thing I knew would work.  Bribed him with delicious creamy dark chocolaty ice cream.  And the guarantee that the first batch was his. He ordered it the next day.

ICe Cream (1 of 1)-8

So I made him this!  It was a huge hit!

ICe Cream (1 of 1)-2

He turned to me clutching his bowl full of ice cream with a big grin and said “babe, This just might be the best ice cream I have ever eaten”  I think he may have even had a little chocolate on his face.

Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

2 Cups of Heavy Cream (Whipping Cream)
1/3 Cup of Cocoa
2.3 Cup of Sugar
5 Ounces of Dark Chocolate
2 Egg Yolks
I Cup of 1% Milk
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
½ Teaspoon of Salt
½ Cup of Dark Chocolate Chips (Optional)

Chop up dark chocolate and set aside.

In a medium sauce pot, heat the whipping cream, sugar and cocoa. Heat until just boiling.  Remove from the heat and add the chopped up chocolate. Stir until all the chocolate has melted.

Beat egg yolks in a large bowl.  Take a ladle full of the warm chocolate and slowly mix into the eggs.  This is called tempering eggs.  You have to do this slowly so the eggs don’t cook.  Now slowly mix the rest of the chocolate into the egg mixture… slowly and whisking the whole time.

Now return the chocolate/egg mixture back into the sauce pan and heat over medium heat.  Stir consistently until it thickens slightly.  Remove from the heat.

Pour the chocolate mixture into a medium/large bowl ( you can use fine mesh strainer if you have any cooked egg in your mixture… it happens)  and mix in the 1% milk and vanilla.

Place plastic wrap over your bowl , make sure the plastic wrap is touching the chocolate, this ensures that the chocolate doesn’t form a skin on top.   Place in the fridge until cool.

Once the mixture is cool, place in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer instructions. Once its finished in the ice cream maker, stir in the chocolate chips, if you want. And place in the freezer.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Yay for getting an ice cream maker! I got one about a little over a year ago and use it pretty often : ) Especially during the summer. This dark chocolate ice cream sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  2. yum this looks so decadent and yummy. I need to use my ice cream maker more! This sounds sooo good!

    Reply
  3. This ice cream sounds like a dream!! Love all the chocolatey goodness in there!

    Reply
  4. Wow this looks awesome! Creamy and chocolatey. Definitely my kind of ice cream. :)

    Reply
  5. This looks fantastic and so flavorful! Can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  6. Sounds SO delicious!

    My boyfriend also always says we can’t get an ice cream maker because it will be another appliance that collects dust. So instead I just make sure to have lots of family / friends with them so I get to indulge in homemade treats all the time anyways. : ]

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

