Fish Tacos

I have been meaning to try fish tacos forever.  Well not forever.. ever since a friend mentioned them to me after a trip to San Francisco.

Fish Taco5 (1 of 1)

If you have ever been to San Francisco, you will know that you cannot get a bad meal anywhere.  I mean seriously, I could pick a sandwich out of a garbage can and it would probably taste good… ok well maybe not from inside a garbage can.. maybe just outside it.

Fish Taco2 (1 of 1)

At first I was skeptical.. fish in a taco… meat belongs in a taco… but she did try them in San Francisco…  I was in.

Fish Taco3 (1 of 1)

To be honest it took me a few years to try them.    All the recipes I found just didn’t look right.

Fish Taco4 (1 of 1)

Then I stumbled on to these.  They looked so light and fresh.  Like something I could feel good about eating.  Tasty and healthy… who knew.

Fish Taco6 (1 of 1)

So if you are looking to eat something yummy and still feel good about it.. Try these!

[Adapted from http://kitchensimplicity.com/grilled-fish-tacos/]

1 Tablespoon of Lemon
2 Teaspoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon of Minced Garlic
1 Tablespoon of Chili Powder
1 teaspoon of Cumin
½ Teaspoon of Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
Pinch of Salt and Pepper
1 pound of Tilapia
4 Eight Inch Tortilla shells

Topping

2 Green Onions Chopped
1 Small Onion Chopped
2 Teaspoon of Lime Juice
Pinch of Salt and Pepper
1 Cup of Shredded Lettuce ( I just chopped mine)

Whisk all the marinade ingredients in a small bowl.  Transfer marinade and fish to a Ziploc bag and place in the fridge for 1 hour to 24 hours.

Brush your grill with olive oil or non-stick spray.  Heat up the grill to high.

Mix all the topping ingredients together in a small number, except the shredded lettuce and set aside.

Turn of far left burner on your grill off, or really low and place the fish there.  Cook for 3-5 minutes on each side, or until the fish is flaky.

Place the tortilla shells on a plate and wrap with plastic wrap, heat in the microwave for 25-30 seconds.

To assemble taco’s, place tortilla shell on a plate, top with ¼ of the fish and ¼ of the toppings, including lettuce.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Fish tacos are easily one of my favorite foods. Yours look great!

    Reply
  2. I love fish tacos! Yours look so summery and scrumptious, Tracy!

    Reply
  3. I agree with your friend and you on SF and food. You name of the cuisine and you will find it and from authentic to fusion. I am glad you got to make these. We love fish tacos. You should visit SF.

    Reply
  4. marcie@flavorthemoments

     /  July 4, 2013

    I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and the food is some of the best anywhere. You have one of my favorite things here…fish tacos! So light and fresh – perfect anytime!

    Reply
  5. I’m a big fan of tacos!! Wanna try this one out :D

    Reply
  6. I absolutely love fish tacos and yours look fabulous! I agree, the food in San Fran is amazing, I visited 3 years ago and would love to go back again some day :) I love the sound of all the spices in this taco and can’t wait to try it out soon. Thanks for sharing :)

    Reply
  7. Hey there! Love the look of this recipe. I tend to inhale fish tacos whole, and this dish looks like a great way to make them myself. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  8. I love fish tacos but have never thought to make my own I will definitely be trying these! Thanks!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

