Beef Burgers

It’s Bar-B-Q Season!!!  Well at least I think it is.  I don’t know about where you live, but, it’s a little cold here.

burger (1 of 1)-6

Seriously where is my summer!!!  My pool is open, my deck is… well that’s another story….  My BBQ is primed and fired up.  I just need the 25 plus weather, and these Burgers!

burger (1 of 1)-4

I am forever on the hunt for burgers that don’t dry out and shrink to half their original size.

burger (1 of 1)

Enter these burgers. I know, this looks like the paste you used in kindergarten, but it is key to a moist burger.

burger (1 of 1)-5

It also may seem weird to drive your knuckle into your burgers, creating a divot in the centre, but it guarantees your burger wont shrink to half their size.

burger (1 of 1)-7

So let’s all get out there and fire up the bbq and maybe summer will follow!!!

1 Slice of Bread
1 Tablespoon of Milk
2 Tablespoons of BBQ Sauce
1 Tablespoon of Low Sodium Soya Sauce
1 Teaspoon of Worchestire Sauce
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper
1 lb of Medium Ground Beef
4 Burger Buns

Lettuce, Tomato and any toppings you like on your burger

Heat BBQ grill on high.  Make sure the grill is greased up.  I use olive oil.

Tear up bread and place in a small bowl.  Pour milk over bread, and let site for 5 minutes.

After 5 minutes, stir the milk/bread mixture, until it resembles that paste you used to use in kindergarten class.  Now add the BBQ sauce, soya sauce, worchestire sauce, salt and pepper. Stir until combined.

In a medium bowl mix ground beef and the paste until combined.  I used my hands.  Do not over mix.

Shape into 4 balls (Yes, just 4).  Flatten balls until they are ¼ inch thick.  Using your knuckle, make a loonie size indent in the centre of each patty.  This allows the fat to pool, in the indent.  Its so the burgers don’t shrink so much.

Turn the heat to medium on one side.  Place the burgers on the medium heat side for 4-5 minutes on each side.  If your adding cheese and/or toasting buns, do this in the last 2 minutes of cooking.

Top with your favorite toppings.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. It’s definitely grilling season here! Which I love : ) A good burger is a must for the summer months – these look great!

    Reply
  2. It’s not summery here. the sky is so so grey :(

    Reply
  3. I’ve never heard of the centre indent. What a great idea! I always get super annoyed when my burgers shrink. I keep trying to squish them down but it doesn’t help at all! Love the way you write. Happy to have found your blog! x

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

