Peanut Butter and Onion Sandwiches (Father’s Day Special)

This Sandwich is for you Dad! and my siblings, who miss you just as much as I do.

PeanutButter and Onion1

6 months has gone by, and not one day passes without a thought of you.   At first the tears would fall so easily, and with great heartache, knowing you were not around. Whether I wanted to share something with you or something simply reminded me of you.

PeanutButterandOnion2

It’s true that with time it gets a little easier.  These days I find myself smiling before the tears come to my eyes, and I appreciate the memory of you instead of morning with heartbreak.

PeanutButterandOnion7

To the giver of rough kisses with your beard when I was five.  Provider of fashion advice to complete strangers at the mall.  Holder of hands to my 15 year old self… and not caring.   Impart-er of wisdom as I maneuvered my way to adulthood.   Simply said; I miss you Daddy.

Dad

P.S. Dad, put a shirt on!

Peanut Butter and Onion Sandwiches

[Adapted from my Dad]

1 Regular Cooking Onion, Sliced (or whatever onion you likes)
1-2 Tablespoon of Smooth Peanut Butter
2 Slices of Bread

Spread peanut butter on the bread, top with onions, and enjoy.  (I toasted my bread for extra crunch!)

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry about the loss of your Dad, Tracy. This is such a loving tribute to him.

    Reply
  2. What a lovely post :)

    Reply
  3. I’m sad for you loss. Now I know where the peanut butter and onion comes from.

    Reply
  4. What a unique sandwich combination… did your dad come up with that himself, or did he get the idea from someone else? Love this post. Your dad sounds like an amazing guy. I am so sorry that he’s passed on… but I’m glad that your heart is healing with time. Great photo. I have similar photos of my dad also (but he’s got a hairless chest, for some reason! Weird hairless English!) x

    Reply
    • I’m not sure if he came up with it or not… I think he thought so. It is nice, the onions give it more crunch than flavor. Thanks for not saying it sounded gross.

      Reply
      • Haha… well, I couldn’t quite imagine it in my head, but if your dad liked it then that’s good enough for me! My dad has a thing for onions also. He loves pickled onions the most. Must be a dad thing ;)

  5. Great, great, great post. I always loved the impact your father had on you and the inspiration he gave you for this blog. As long as you always keep him in your thoughts he’ll never be truly gone.

    Reply
  6. Ann kratofil

     /  May 28, 2014

    My dad used to make us onion sandwiches (using scallions and white bread and butter)…good memories! Agree, must’ve been a dad thing! Craving one now! ;)

    Reply
  7. look at those glasses…awesome! I love pics from the 70s..there’s something so tangible about them. your dad seems like a cool guy.

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

