Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (The BESTEST Ever)

I have a problem.

Oatmealraisin1

Any time I stumble across a recipe that claims to be “the best ever” I immediately stop and I have to make it.  I’m a marketers dream…

Oatmealraisin2

I was that kid in front of the TV, yelling out to my mom, I wanted the newest toy I just saw…. And I am that adult, watching early Sunday morning infomercials, ready to pick up the phone and order that new fitness machine that the ultra-fit lady says will transform you.

Oatmealraisin3

I am that girlfriend you want at your pampered chef, party light or a Tupperware type party.  The demonstrator will ooooo and aww me into giving you the best party ever.

Oatmealraisin4

So when I saw this recipe… I was in.  This time it delivered… these really are the best oatmeal raisin cookies ever.   EVER!!

Oatmealraisin5

Why are you still reading this?  You should be in your kitchen making these cookies…!!!!

Best Ever Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

[Adapted from http://journeytocrunchville.wordpress.com/2007/09/17/the-best-oatmeal-cookies-ever/]

2 Eggs
1 Tablespoons of Vanilla Extract
1 Cup of Raisins
1 Cup of Un-Salted Butter
1 Cup of Brown Sugar
¾ Cup of White Sugar
1 Cups of Flour
½ Cup of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (or you can use regular flour)
1 Teaspoon of Salt
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
2 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
1/2 Teaspoon of Nutmeg
3 Cups of Quick Cooking Oatmeal

Beat eggs with vanilla in a small bowl.  Pour in raisins and soak for 1-2 hours (this should give you the time you need to let your butter soften; I never remember to take it out!)

When an hour or two has passed, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, cream the butter with the brown and white sugars.

In a medium bowl, mix together flours, oatmeal, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Add it to the butter mixture and blend until combined.  Add egg, vanilla and raisin mixture.  Stir until combined.

Using a tablespoon, roll dough into balls, and place 2 inches apart, on a prepared pan (I use a silicon mat).  I pressed them down a bit.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.

Transfer cookie sheet to a cooling rack for 2-4 minutes, then transfer the cookies onto the cooling rack.

Eat at least 6, so I don’t feel so bad about the 5 I ate.

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. That bestest ever claim makes me think I need to get cooking;) Love oatmeal raisin cookies and those do look good!
    -Erin

    Reply
  2. These look so chunky and perfect–yum! (And I’m totally a marketers dream too. I’m always saying to my husband, “Well, they wouldn’t say it’s so great if it wasn’t!”)

    Reply
  3. I am just as guilty as the next person believing all those infomercials. Good thing I am poor or Id have everything I see on tv. I just have to say this cookie recipe looks to die for. I will have give them a try. I also loved your personality coming out in your blog. Always makes me giggle when I read peoples fun blogs. :) keep up the good work!

    Reply
  4. I’m the same way – I always fall for the “best evers”. haha!! But it’s worth trying because, like this one, sometimes they really ARE the best ever!

    Reply
  5. Yum! These look fantastic! They spread out so much in the oven

    Reply
  6. Never enough great oatmeal cookie recipes, love them all and yours look amazingly delicious ;-)

    Reply
  7. I love oatmeal raisin cookies and have FIVE different versions on my site. Yes, I love them that much! Yours look wonderful!

    Reply
  8. Girl I just found your blog, and I’m in love. I love peanut butter and onion with a burning passion. Can we be best friends? Oh, and oatmeal raisin cookies are my favorite. Seriously, let’s be friends! :)

    Reply
  9. I am always looking for the best oatmeal cookies. I’ll have to give these a try to see how they stack up!

    Reply
  10. stephanie c.

     /  October 27, 2013

    These look awesome!! I am curious as to why the WW Pastry flour. What difference does it make in the dough (from less protein, I guess?) Thank you!!!

    Reply
    • Just to be healthier. You could totally use regular flour. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
      • stephanie c.

         /  October 27, 2013

        Ohhhhh! Hahahahha. I was all googling pastry flour. Thanks so much for this recipe. My friend is visiting next weekend and loves Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. I can’t wait to surprise him with these!!

  11. Mine did not raise like the picture. I followed the directions exactly. Any ideas? They were almost flat, but still chewy.They still tasted good though.

    Reply
    • I’m sorry to hear they didn’t turn out. This has happened to me time and time again. One suggestion I would make is too place the dough in the fridge for an hour before you scoop them onto the cookie sheet. It prevents the butter from melting faster then the starch can activate, they will deflate.

      Reply
  12. Thanks, I’ll try that!

    Reply
  13. Clarisse

     /  November 13, 2013

    I usually never make oatmeal raisin cookies because I have so many other favorites, but my neighbor said that was his favorite cookie. I wanted to make him some for letting us borrow his leaf vacuum. Anyway these just came out of the oven and they are soooooo yummy. The bestest ever thanks

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

