Homemade Low Fat Cinnamon Rolls

I’m sitting here, writing this, watching The Secret of My Success.   Did I just date myself?   Oh well…..Do you remember this movie.   I hadn’t seen it in years.

Cinnamon Bun1

Remember all that cheesy music.  Especially that one song…you know the one…. they play it several times throughout the movie.  Once when Michael J. Fox is driving the limo and his aunt is getting all (PG) sexy in the back of the limo.  Oooooo yaaaaa.

Cinnamon Bun2

Never mind that song, this whole movie is filled with cheesy instrumental 80’s music… its hilarious.  It makes me wonder if our kids will blog about how bad the music was in the movies of today.

Cinnamon Bun3

As I’m watching this 80’s classic movie, my tummy starts to grumble… and I’m craving something sweet.  Then it hits me …I have not posted anything sweet in a month.  Considering this blog is only 2 months old… that’s just unacceptable!

Cinnamon Bun4

I guess I figured my sparkling personality was sweet enough…….right?….. no?  Fine, then we can eat these.

Cinnamon Bun5

Low fat cinnamon rolls.  Perfect for a Sunday morning, watching old 80’s movies.  Chick Chick  chick-a chickaaaaa

Homemade Low Fat Cinnamon Rolls

[Adapted By http://www.sheknows.com/recipes/low-fat-cinnamon-rolls]

1 Cup of 1% Milk
4 Tablespoons of Butter
¼ Cup of Sugar Plus 1 Tablespoon
1 Package of Active Dry Yeast
1 ½ Cups of Flour
1 ½ Cups of Whole Wheat Flour
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Large Egg
½ Cup of Brown Sugar
2 Tablespoons of Cinnamon

Frosting

4 Tablespoons of Butter

1 Teaspoon of Vanilla

2 Tablespoons of 5% Cream

1 Cup of Powdered Sugar

Heat Milk, and tablespoons of butter in a medium pot.  Don’t let it boil, just until you see bubbles on the side of the pot.  Pour milk into a measuring cup, add 1 tablespoon of sugar, and sprinkle yeast on top.  Let sit for 5 minutes, you should see it froth up.

In a medium bowl, beat egg.  Add remaining ¼ cup of sugar and 1 cup of flour to a bowl, along with the yeast and mix until blended.  Let sit for 10 minutes

In a large bowl mix remaining flours, and salt. Add to the yeast/flour mixture.  Blend until it forms a ball of dough.  Knead the dough on a floured surface for 2-3 minutes.  If it’s sticky add a little more flour.   Form into a ball.

Transfer the ball of dough in to a bowl that has been sprayed with non-stick spray.  Cover and place in a warm spot for 30 minutes, or until double in size.

Once the dough has risen, punch it down. Cover and let rise for another 30 minutes.

After it has doubled in size for the second time, roll-out onto a floured surface, and shape into a 9 X 18 rectangle.

Melt remaining 2 tablespoons of butter.  Gently brush the butter over the rolled out dough.

Combine brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl, sSprinkle all over the rolled out dough.

Working from the shorter end of the dough, roll up the dough.

Using a sharp knife,, cut the dough vertically, into 14 equal pieces.

Place the cut pieced in a sprayed two 8×8 pan. Cover and let rise for 30 Minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Once the buns have risen for 30 minutes, put them in the oven, and bake for 18 -22 minutes.

Prepare frosting.  Mix all ingredients in a bowl.

Remove the cinnamon buns from the oven, let cool in the pan on a cooling rack for 15 minutes.

Drizzle the frosting over the cinnamon buns and server warm.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. These look really good–and I love that they are lower in fat! I will have to try them sometime!

    Reply
  2. I have GOT to try these!!!! Yum!

    Reply
  3. Sound great! Especially the low fat part. I have yet to make a cinnamon roll, and considering how much of a nut I am for them I can’t believe myself.

    I love your pics too. I see a lot of bright and light filled pics everywhere (including my own) and yours have this dark look to them. Like you’re cooking in a dungeon. I used to cook in a dungeon and my pics never came out like that! Good job.

    And I try to think of how the future generation will look back at all the things we’ve done and enjoyed… 80’s music, tape players, vhs’, camcorders you had to mount on your shoulder… But I always get off track at how much technology has evolved to keep on wondering such things. One thing’s for sure, we’ll never see an awesomer generation than ours! (3 points for “awesomer”!)

    Reply
    • Always a pleasure to hear from you. btw I love your new space. Also I do cook in a dungeon… maybe one day my oh so sweet hubbie will redo my kitchen , but thanks for the compliment.

      Reply
  4. I can’t believe these are low fat! They look like the real thing, and half of the tasting is in the seeing. Delicious.

    Reply
  5. These look so perfect!! Can’t believe they are low-fat. These along with some 80’s movies sound great to me!

    Reply
  6. Say whhaaat? NOTHING about these beauties looks low-fat, and nothing is going to stop me from eating them all on that basis. Great recipe, Tracy!

    Reply
  7. You’re right. An entire month without sweet is terrible!! BUT, you sure did make up for it with these. :)

    Reply
  8. I’ve been wanting to make homemade cinnamon rolls! I actually bought yeast at the store this morning! I’ve been researching some recipes so I’m so glad I came across this one too:))

    Reply
  9. I love that you’ve used whole wheat flour – I’ve never tried making cinnamon rolls this way. Healthy yet still decadent? Yes, please!

    Reply
  10. Low fat and delicious…count me in!

    Reply
  11. Totally trying these! Yum!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

