Spinach and Gruyere Mother’s Day Quiche

Well its back to reality today.  What a wonderful week!   It started the day before Mother’s day, when Mom arrived.  I had a stay-cation for the entire time she was here.

284Spinach and Shallot Mother’s Day Quiche3

Mother’s day was awesome!  I gave my Mom some pretty orange tulips and booked high tea at a fancy tea room…. LOVED it.

Mothers day flowers 2013

I also got a wonderful surprise.  You have to know something about me first… I’ve been complaining for years that I get ripped off for Mother’s day… technically I’m not a Mother… but I still think being a “Dog” Mom deserves a little something.  No one else agrees.  This year was different, my super awesome step daughter drove all the way out to our place to give me the prettiest roses (long stem and everything), and my day was made!

Mothers day flowers 2013 2

That evening I made Mom and I this quiche.  I have never made a quiche before… and pie crust and I do not usually get along.  I am, proud to say the whole quiche turned out great, pie crust and all.

Spinach and Shallot Mother’s Day Quiche2

I could not stop eating this quiche … it got to the point, that I had to ask my mom to pack up and freeze the left overs before I ate the whole quiche…. Mmmm.  Now that I say it, I just reminded myself I have quiche in my freezer… Dinner tonight!!!

Spinach and Shallot Mother’s Day Quiche3

Spinach and Shallot Mother’s Day Quiche

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/317211/asparagus-leek-and-gruyere-quiche%5D

Pie Crust

1 ¼ Cup Flour
½ Cup cold butter  (cut into small pieces)
1 Tablespoon of Sugar
½ Teaspoon Salt
4 Tablespoons cold water

Quiche

1 Tablespoon butter
3 Shallots, chopped
1 Bag of spinach, washed and stems removed
4 Eggs
½ Cup milk
¼ Cup 5% cream
¼ Teaspoon salt, pepper and nutmeg
1 Cup shredded Gruyere cheese

Pie Crust

In a food processor, add flour, butter (that has been cut into small pieces), sugar and salt.  Mix until it resembles coarse crumbs.  This can also be done by hand,  in a bowl with 2 knives or a pastry blender.

Add 2 tablespoons of the cold water to the food processor (or bowl) and blend, until all is incorporated.   Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of water in the same manner.

The dough may be a little wet, that’s OK,  you can add flour.    Shape the dough into a 1 inch think disk, wrap in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 30 minutes.  The dough should be moist, not wet.  It should defiantly not be crumbling apart.

After 30 minutes, take the disk out of the fridge and roll-out on a floured surface until its about 12 inches in diameter.  Take your time rolling out, it’s less likely to rip, and the shape will be easier to achieve.

Shape into a quiche pan, or a pie plate.  Set aside.

Prepare and Assemble the quiche

Pre-Heat oven to 350 degrees

In a medium skillet, melt butter.  Add shallots, cook until translucent.  Add spinach, cook until wilted.  Remove from heat and set aside.

In a medium bowl,  whisk eggs, milk, cream, salt, pepper and nutmeg.

Spread the shallot/spinach mixture in the pie crust, sprinkle with cheese.  Now pour the egg mixture over top.

Bake in the oven for 50 minutes.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. This looks delicious. I’m having really bad savoury cravings at the moment .. I would just love this.

    Reply
  2. Is there a better cheese than gruyere? I love it so much!

    Reply
  3. Such a stunning quiche!!!

    Reply
  4. I’ve never made quiche before either, but with gruyere in there I’d say you hit it out of the park! Looks and sounds great! And congrats on the flowers, mom!

    Reply
  5. I actually had quiche on Mother’s Day! I love quiche and this one with all the spinach looks fabulous!

    Reply
  6. A step-daughter that loves you and the cutest dog in the world (except mine, of course) definitely makes you a mom. This quiche looks amazing!

    Reply
  7. just found your blog. love quiche! i made a quinoa + kale quiche once. come check it out :)

    http://www.colorandspiceblog.com/the-recipes/general/no-crust-quinoa-and-kale-quiche/

    Reply
  8. I’m totally craving this quiche now! :)

    Reply
  9. I had a similar quiche yesterday, and it really is a great thing to have around, since it can be eaten at room tº or hot or even cold. Your first one turned out perfect, and I can imagine the many variations you´ll make in the future! btw, the roses are gorgeous!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

